Leaving - micro-fiction

in #fiction5 years ago

Old man walking
Source: Pixabay image by Myriams-Fotos

Leaving


Against a silken, fog-feathered landscape, depleted by wind and Autumn decay, we flew. It was time. Winter threatened, biting our wings with an arctic chill.

We rose, fluttered, and turned south almost as one.

Below, a figure slowly walked the worn cemetery path. It seemed he must also say goodbye.



Thank you for reading my story, which I wrote for this week's 50-word short story challenge. The prompt is "goodbye."

Although I set out to write a story that wasn't sad, I knew it would be a bit difficult, with goodbye as the theme. I'm not sure whether I succeeded.

When writing fiction, I find that my best intentions are often thwarted when the story takes on a life of its own. It is simultaneously tantalizing to think that I am merely a steward for words that demand to be written, and in a way eerie — like that feeling when you place your fingertips on a Ouija board and it pulls away from you, shattering any tenuous sense of control you previously had.

If you have a similar experience, I would love to hear about it!

Animated signature

 


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://jaynalocke.com/2018/10/06/leaving-micro-fiction/

Sort:  

That was beautiful, Jayna:)

Thank you, @prydefoltz! Wonderful to hear from you. How are you doing?

It is eerie. Had we had a hint that the figure is not going to just dump the body of a victim or one of someone without import, the story might have avoided the sadness of the goodbye.
But it seems that this figure "must", against his will and desire, say goodbye to someone dear to him.
Unlike the birds, who fly to a better weather, we are not so sure this figure has something better ahead or south of him.

You really have a way with words, @hlezama. I love that last sentence. It provides such excellent perspective.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75