The House. Part 2.

in #fiction6 years ago

It took me a week or two to get into the groove. I was late for work three times. Used a sick day too. Flat tire, didn't have anything to change it with.

Needless to say, having a very long daily commute requires quite a bit of planning. I was still learning the ropes.

The house was everything I wanted it to be. Peaceful and remote. Nobody messed with me. No loud neighbors. No barking dogs. Nothing.

I immediately set out to fix up a few little things, and even a couple big ones.


Source: Pixabay.com

The brown colored swimming pool was downright nasty. I hired someone to drain it, and someone else to fix the broken concrete around it's rim.

I added a few tiles to the bathroom, painted the kitchen a dark shade of blue, and put extra insulation around the doors and windows.

I even bought a little swinging bench to put out by the front porch so I could drink tea or beer and rock like an old grandpa practicing for a banjo festival.

It was my perfect hideaway house, and it was exactly what I wanted it to be. It was quiet. It was remote. It was lonely.

I added tons of furniture, paintings, shelving, lighting, wall displays.... but it wasn't enough. Sure, it was a refuge. I just didn't realize how much we rely on others to feel full. Everything felt empty.

"I just can't see myself buying a dog." I told Jason while I sprawled out lazily on the pull out sofa that I'd found for $50 at a local consignment store.

"It made sense when I was thinking about moving into a dangerously poor neighborhood, but there's simply nobody out here. Besides I'd feel bad leaving him alone all day."

Jason and I had been best friends for over ten years now. Most people will tell you that he can't be trusted. When it comes to money.... they're right. When it comes to women.... also right. Still I'd known the guy forever and I wasn't the type to hold a grudge. Jason was fun.

He was quite the towering figure, and all muscle. Genetics. Some guys have all the luck. His red hair hung down past his shoulders, and his smile could get almost any girl to flip her hair back in a coy manner. Hanging around Jason had it's advantages.

He was loyal too, in his own way. He'd driven down to see me twice already in his beat up old Cadillac. It was a white and grey Fleetwood with beige interior. I was surprised the old boat could still sail. I certainly wouldn't have wanted to get caught on the side of the road with that thing.

"What we really need, is some girls." he remarked as we both tossed down a Coors. I'd started with craft beer but it's a pain in the ass to lug around that many six packs. It was easier to just grab a couple dirty thirties. If they made a fifty pack of beer I would have been buying those.

"Girls." I sighed. "That would be nice."

I felt a bit sad when Jason left. It had actually been kind of hard to sleep lately. I could have sworn I heard a whispering as I lay down in bed. Was it outside on the lawn? I stepped out for a quick look. The tiny stone antelope I had purchased for next to nothing stared suspiciously at me. Aside from lawn figurines, there was nothing but crickets. Chirp. Chirp.

The mind plays tricks on those who are easily fooled.

I dreamt that I was a steamboat operator in a large swampy river. This one was all black and white. It was like that old steamboat Mickey Mouse cartoon. Steamboat Willie. I didn't have time to think about that though. The boat was shaking heavily. Something was outside. Something unreal. It was big, white, and it glowed like a radioactive crater. A star out here in the river? It's teeth were dripping with fresh blood.

Suddenly I had an out-of body experience. I was drifting up through the roof of the boat. I could see what was going on, but nothing could affect me. It wasn't a star. It wasn't an animal either. It was a like a giant meteor with gaping fangs and claws that spewed stardust. It wasn't a boat. It was a float. A plastic Millennium Falcon. I wasn't on a river. I was floating above a pool. It was my pool.

An alarm suddenly went off in my head and I quickly looked to the front lawn. It stood there towering, the gaping planet creature. It was whispering so loudly I thought my ears might burst.

"Take them here or somewhere near. Take them raw and use my claw. Make them red, and take their head. Take them deep when they're asleep."

Have you ever known that you were dreaming but you just couldn't wake up? Your mind wants to awaken but your body just won't let it. My heart was beating a million miles a minute. I could just imagine that guy from The Simpsons. Worst dream ever.

Suddenly the horrifying imagery was replaced by a ringing phone. Ring ring. So freaking loud. So realistic too. I batted at it a couple of times and pulled my hand back, having hurt my knuckle. I was awake. I picked up the phone, hand covered in sweat.

"Good news buddy." I could hear the smile in his voice. "I've got a couple of beauties that can't wait to see your new place. Twins, if you can believe it."

It looked like this weekend was going to be a lot of fun.

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

This is interesting !

Cool story buddy

This one gave me chills. Can't wait to hear what happens. :-)

He needs to get that dog!

Ive read in a kids book before that if you look through the ears of a dog or cat you can see the same thing they see, which includes spirits.

Oh oh, are we turning this into a haunted house story (like that little picture at the bottom of your posts) or is this guy just going into the pits of his mind. oooooh.

Ahahah, I see the commute is already driving him nutty.

It gets worse buddy! An hour drive daily seems like 5 hours by the end of friday!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95