Serialised story in the New Year.

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

I am going to serialise a story, perhaps many stories, here on Steemit.

Pitch1.jpg

I have three questions that I would like answered by as many people as possible, so please resteem. I’m new here, only a month old, so I don’t have a huge amount of followers and your help reaching out to others would be greatly appreciated.

Sci-Fi and Fantasy are my comfortable genres. Which one would you initially like to see an original work evolve from?

If I was to offer the opportunity for readers to suggest inclusions and/or help guide the arc of the tale, would that increase your interest? To explain further, I will buffer the story so that I have a few days’ work ready to go should I fall ill or otherwise become unavailable but the rest will be written on the fly. So if someone was to request the appearance of an alien species or a mythical force, that could be worked into the story in a few days max. Would an interactive element increase the appeal? Or would you prefer to remain unaware of what is coming?

Lastly, for the moment, we come to length. Short story – around a week’s worth of reading per tale. Novelette – around two to three week’s worth or Novella – a month’s worth. Which would you prefer?

Whatever happens, I’m going to build a world here on Steemit. The first story will be written no matter what.

The second is up to you.

Follow me for launch details.

(Image courtesy of pixabay.com)

Sort:  

`Sci-Fi for me. I like to not know what's coming. As for length - I'll be happy with any length!

Thanks, Jon. Appreciate the input!

My preference is for fantasy. I would like to be surprised by whatever twists and turns you come up with. The longer the better with your talent for writing.

You old flatterer! Thank you kindly, sir.

Fantasy for me. And I love to be surprised. The story that grows naturally appeals to me much more than a story that is forced to accommodate requests.
Length: I could read your work endlessly. I leave that to your conscience. ;-)
Upvoted and resteemed.

Thank you kindly, little one. We seem fairly evenly split over the gemres. We'll see how it pans out :)

Oh John. You know I love it when you call me little one. Bats eyelashes

I'm interested to see what you bring out and I'm following you to find out.

As for the questions, I'm more inclined to sci-fi and prefer not knowing what will happen next beforehand. In regards to length, I like it long but if you're going to post one every day, short pieces per post work just as well. Novella to novel length in all, especially if it's really intriguing to read.

Excellent feedback! Thank you.

You're most welcome!

I remember reading a very unique book some 15-20 years ago. It was a fantasy story where the reader would get to choose what to do next at the end of each chapter. There were choices that lead to the death of the character so it was like an RPG that you had to beat in the form of a book.

Maybe giving the readers a choice that is determined by the majority of votes would let you plan the story ahead a little more than simply doing it on the fly. Unless, of course, you want to do it on the fly. But the overall idea of interactivity and the possibility to influence the way the story evolves seems enticing to me (Think TellTale games, for example).

As to the length, I think it's either up to you or depends on the amount of active followers. Something like a monthly event, maybe?

I remember those! But you are in a minority here for some reason. Everyone else wants to be surprised. I suppose if you're swimming, you don't want someone firing up a cello and ruining your day...

(I didn't mean to break this up into two comments)
Between Sci-Fi and Fantasy, I like Sci-Fi better (or, like, fantasy-like stuff in the real world i.e. Neil Gaiman).
I think it'd be cool to 'interact' with the story, but I don't know if I trust myself with that responsibility :P

Everyone else recoils from the idea of interacting with the story line. i can perhaps see why, it would change the reading experience drastically if you knew, even partially, what was going to happen next. I think I'm going to take this element off the table for the moment.
Thanks for your feedback!

Sure thing! I'm excited for the fiction to start rolling :D

I prefer the fantasy genre since you're asking. Length and story lines I leave completely up to you. You're the expert. :-) I wouldn't have any interest in the interactive side of things unless I was actually doing some of the writing so....I'd rather hear/read what you come up with and find out everything as we go. Either way, consider yourself upvoted and followed and I'll be looking forward to your future posts. Thank you.

I thought the interative thing might have worked but you're in the majority with this. Working in a conventional manner makes life so much easier anyway.
Thanks for the feedback.

No problem. While I think getting things thrown at you from the readers might help spark some ideas (never a bad thing), writing what you want to write without having to cram something you consider a little unnatural (for lack of a better word) will probably make the story flow better from its source (you). :-) But, as I said above, you're the expert so...I'll look forward to reading whatever you create. Good luck!

I'm neither a sci-fi nor a fantasy aficionado, and have only started reading these kinds of works here on Steemit. So... take what I say with a grain of salt. Like @jonknight, I like to not know what's coming. Suspense, in any kind of tale, is always nice. As for length, I am much better at reading short pieces. I hope to follow your writing adventure. Very exciting! Bottom line, you should write what speaks to you.

To be fair, all posts will be relatively short. Just a snippet each day.
Both genres speak to me, hence I'm leaving it up to you guys :)
Thanks for the feedback!

I believe both would be awsome!
You just earned a follow from me my friend.

Thank you kindly :)

welcome! Whatever floats your desire regarding the novel and the artwork: both. Best wishes:-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70272.86
ETH 3773.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82