Chat Log - David - 051020640623

in #fiction4 years ago

October 5, 6:23 PM
Me: Hello.

David: Hello.

Me: So what's it like?

David: Hard to describe. Bright? Everything is very bright here. Spacious and bright. It's nice to be able to move though.

Me: I bet. So any idea of what you want to do first?

David: Redecorate. There is A LOT of time to go out and find things to do. For now I just want to make this place feel more like home.

Me: Oh, maybe some throw pillows?

David: And some mood lights.

Me: Gonna need a record player for sure.

David: Absolutely. Not to mention some tasteful paintings.

Me: Tasteful nudes for sure.

David: Only the tasteful ones though.

Me: Nothing but.

7:01
David: That's better.

Me: Done decorating?

David: Yep. Far less obnoxiously bright. Also more places to sit. I opted for mostly bean bag chairs.

Me: Comfy.

David: That's the idea. I managed to light the place in a soft golden hue.

Me: That's... hard to imagine.

David: Was for me too until I saw it. I feel like I'll get sick of it pretty quickly, but it's pretty nice for now.

Me: Able to change them whenever you want. God, I can't even change a light bulb anymore.

David: Just get someone to install one of those colorful light bulbs. The ones you can change with your voice.

Me: I guess I could do that. I don't know, they always seemed pretty gimmicky.

David: They are. I'm finding myself understanding the appeal of gimmicks now though. It's easy when you don't have to pay for it. Give it a shot, you'd like them.

Me: Ha ha, sure. You would know.

David: I would.

October 6, 6:30 AM
Me: You awake?

David: Can't sleep.

Me: Right. What have you been up to?

David: Fine tuning my decorations.

Me: Still haven't left yet?

David: You know as well as I how monumentally intimidating that door is. Or was. I got rid of it until I've made up my mind.

Me: That's a mood.

David: Yes. That is what some would call a mood.

Me: So you've spent hours just decorating?

David: You say as if you haven't spent hours building a Minecraft fort before.

Me: You've got me there. Wish I could see what you were doing.

David: Me too. For the time being I'm the only one that knows this space exists. It gives it both a special and lonely feeling.

Me: You can change that.

David: Easy for you to say.

Me: Yep.

4:55 PM
David: The door is back.

Me: Good for you. Going to actually go through it?

David: Nope, just going to stare at it for hours. It makes a nice decoration.

Me: I'm sure it does.

David: Not sure if you detect sarcasm or not. There's none to be had here.

Me: So you actually added the door just as a decoration?

David: Pretty much.

Me: Sounds par for course.

David: Four.

Me: Four what?

David: Like in golf. Four.

Me: Oh. Ha ha.

David: Thanks for the pity laugh.

Me: More sarcasm than pity. Though seriously, all this time and you've only been decorating and staring at a door?

David: Pretty much. Honestly I barely notice. Technically just as much time has passed, but it just doesn't seem to matter anymore.

Me: Fascinating. Also a bit depressing.

David: It's not really. It's just my new reality. Sorry if this sounds a bit insensitive, but I can walk again yet find myself perfectly content to just sit on a bean bag chair starring at the ceiling thinking about whatever comes to mind.

Me: So you spend a lot of time meditating.

David: Pretty much. You've considered getting into it for so long and now I finally have the time to actually do it. Not that it has to be particularly time consuming, but for me it's just like "why not?"

Me: I guess I don't have much of an excuse not to anymore. Not much else better to do.

David: Oof, my feelings.

Me: Ha ha, sure, I'm very compelled to feel sorry for you.

David: You know me well.

Me: Feels like I've known you all my life.

David: Bit on the nose. Feels... strange to be honest. This whole experience is strange, but...

Me: Yeah, sorry.

David: I'm going through the door.

Me: Well that was a quick turn around.

David: Like ripping off a band aid. Or jumping into a cold lake on a warm summer afternoon.

Me: That brings me back.

David: Doesn't it? Well, I'm off. Ok, I love you, bye bye!

Me: I should stop saying that to people... very awkward on the receiving end.

November 2, 2:43 PM

David: And I'm back.

Me: Holy crap you were gone for a long time.

David: I guess. Lots to do and see out there. Easy to lose track of time.

Me: Tell me about it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61959.02
ETH 3004.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59