Justin Time (Chapter 21) An Original Science Fiction Novel

in #fiction8 years ago

                                   

 

Link to beginning of story:

 https://steemit.com/fiction/@justephen/justin-time-chapter-1-an-original-novel

Link to Chapter 20: The Poker Game

https://steemit.com/fiction/@justephen/justin-time-chapter-20-an-original-science-fiction-novel

Chapter 20 Review:

Justin's headaches get worse, so he has an appointment with the doctor. During the poker game, A very furious Larry Van Morrison finds out that Mark Hannity was the juror who turned the jury in Katherine's favor.  Mark Hannity gives his mother, anti occlusion which was a miracle drug developed by Katherine Time. This drug should reverse his mother's stroke. Justin starts working on dream control.

Chapter 21: The Tumor

Justin arrived at Dr. Bellow's office on Wednesday morning. Dr. Bellow was not only his General Practitioner, he was also his friend.

"So, I understand you have been having headaches. Has there consistently been a particular area or has it been general?", asked his doctor.

"It's been here.", Justin said pointing to the lower back of his head.

Checking Justin's eyes, Dr. Bellow said, "Okay. Let's do an M.R.I and a C.T. Scan."

Normally a patient would have to wait weeks to order these specialized tests, however Dr. Bellow made an exception for his friend. After a few hours of testing, Dr. Bellow sat Justin down.

"There's no easy way to say this. You have a tumor. The good news is that it is probably not malignant and it is very very small. However, it's location is in a very sensitive part. It is within your brain stem. You probably know this, but this portion of your brain controls many vital facets including your breathing and heartbeat. As it grows, it will start impairing these areas. Because of its exact location, we cannot operate. I'm sorry. As you may know, the probable cause was your head injury when you were just a child. It is quite common for concussions or any brain trauma to later result in tumors. Justin just sat with his mouth wide open.


"Open wide mom.", said Mark Hannity trying to give his mother a spoonful of chicken soup.

"Please stop Mark.", she said blocking the spoon. "I feel good. Let me try by myself."

Margaret Hannity took the spoon from Mark, dipped it into the bowl, raised it to her mouth and took a sip!  Her whole face was beaming. She felt like a new women.

Mark yelled, "Whoohoo.",  and burst into laughter. "It works! The new medicine works! Thank you Katherine Time. Mom do you understand? This also means that soon you should be walking again. Moving around and doing all the things you used to do."

"This morning I felt good. Then I started feeling better throughout the day. Listen to me. I can speak clearly. How did you know?", said a very lively Margaret.

"I will explain everything when I get back. First, we need to celebrate. Do you think you can handle a little champagne?"

"Absolutely honey.", she gleamed.

"I will be back in just a second. I know where I can get a really nice bottle.", said Mark as he shut the front door behind himself.

Mark journeyed to a near-by liquor store and purchased their best champagne which was locked up behind the register in a glass case. Leaving the liquor store he skipped to his car in an empty parking lot. As he got to his car, he was approached by a man. 

"Are you Mark Hannity?", the man asked.

"Why yes I am.", said a very happy Mark Hannity.

Pulling out a gun and pointing it directly at Mark's head, Larry Van Morrison said, "My wife would be alive today if it weren't for you!" At point blank range. Bang! Bang!  Marked fell to the ground dead. Blood pouring onto the asphalt.


On Thursday evening Justin answered a knock on the door. He opened the door to a stunning young lady.
"Hi Kirstin! It's so good to see you. You look amazing.", said Justin as he pulled Kirstin close and gave her a huge hug.

"I want to introduce you to someone. Katie. Can you please come down for a moment?"

"Oh? Is someone here?", she replied.

Katie walked down the stairs and gave Kirstin a big smile.

"Katie, this is Kirstin the girl I was telling you about. Kirstin this is Katie. She has been with our family for almost 18 years now. She is well behaved and exceptionally smart."

"Oh my!", blurted an astonished Kirstin.

Kirstin quickly regained her composure. "Hi Katie", she said.

Katie walked over to Kirstin with her arms stretched out and gave Kirstin a big hug. Katie then signed to Justin.

"Yes Katie. You are right.", he said signing back.

"What did she say Justin?"

"Katie said you are very pretty and she likes you." 

Aw, I like you too Katie", said Kirstin and she meant it.

"Wow...Why didn't you tell me about Katie? Were you keeping her a secret?"

"No. On the contrary. I wanted Katie to be a surprise. You will find that she understands much of what we say. Hopefully you can learn sign language so you can understand Katie too. Well, this is my place. It's a little small, but I don't require that much.

"I see. I think you may need a woman's touch to brighten this place up.", Kirstin said with a smile."

"Well..Yeah. You may be right. Decorating has not been on my list of priorities. Well, let me show you around."

Justin gave a quick tour of his home purposely avoiding the basement. Although he didn't want to keep secrets from her, at this point he couldn't share his findings. After he showed her around he asked her to sit wherever she felt comfortable.

Kirstin sat on the couch, "Are you going to join me?"

“Yes. In a moment. Would you like something to drink?", he asked.

"That would be nice.", she responded.

"I don't have much of a choice unfortunately. I have bottled water, ice tea and soda."

"I like iced tea, but I was thinking of wine if you have any. We could get some if you don't."

"Not now. Maybe later.", he said with a now concerned look in his eyes. "There is something very important I need to tell you."

Justin poured two glasses of iced tea and handed Kirstin her's.

"I don't know how to say this.", he said sitting next to her. "Remember my headaches?"

"Yes.", she answered with a very concerned look in her eyes.

"Well, we took an MRI and I have a tumor in my lower brain stem. That portion of the brain effects the breathing as well as the heart. I have already been feeling signs that it has been affecting my breathing."

"Well, then it needs to be treated." she said optimistically."

"Unfortunately it is lodged in a very sensitive portion. Even with today's technology, it cannot be removed without causing damage."

"What are you saying?" she panicked.

"Maybe we shouldn't see each other.  As it grows, I will become more disabled." He then wept.

“There has to be some kind of solution. Come closer.”, she said compassionately.

Justin scooted over to her side of the couch. Kirstin pulled him to rest his head on her chest.  She warmly stroked his hair. A sudden calm spread among them.  For a while it felt like time had stopped.

Kirstin finally whispered, “You are a brilliant university professor. I know we will find an answer."

She then whispered in his ear,"I love you."

Hearing those words gave Justin a sense of contentment.
They then embraced and had a long passionate kiss. Moments later, he lead her to his bedroom where they made love and spent the night.

In the morning when Justin awoke, he was staring at the ceiling.  Next to him was a beautiful young women who was sleeping soundly. Justin smiled as his mind started to wonder. 'Boy am I lucky', he thought. Then he remembered his tumor. At that point everything felt so surreal. Justin crept out of bed and quietly went downstairs to the kitchen. He thought if he made some strawberry waffles for Katie and Kirstin, then it may help him change his outlook. While he was cooking, Kirstin came downstairs. Katie greeted her, took her by the hand and lead her to the breakfast nook where they both sat down. Kirstin and Justin beamed at each other.

"I thought I would make strawberry waffles this morning. It is a favorite for both Katie and me. I hope you like it."

"That sounds good.", she fibbed.

Although she could eat waffles, it wasn't her favorite.

"I need to be at work soon, but I thought this would be a great way to start the day.", he responded.

Remembering suddenly, Kirstin gasped, "My gosh!, I have my first rehearsal tonight and I am so unprepared."

"Oh No! Well, the waffles are ready. Let's eat quickly and then we can start our day.", responded Justin.

Kirstin spent the rest of the day studying for her play.  Justin made his best attempt to focus while teaching. The reality was that he now had a full plate and didn't think he could handle work at the lab and the University, a new relationship with Kirstin and expediting the huge time travel task ahead. The afternoon seemed like it went on forever for Justin, but it was finally time to leave the University. Justin realized it has been days since he had last spoken to Blair and hadn't told Blair about his tumor. He called Blair and they agreed to meet up for dinner at the Mighty Meatloaf, which was a lunch and dinner restaurant specializing in unique and gourmet meatloaf recipes.

"I will take the Meatloaf au Gratin", ordered Justin.

"And I will have the Meatloaf Parmesan", ordered Blair.  "So, why the urgent get together?", asked Blair.

Justin hesitated. "I have many mixed emotions right now. The very very good news is that Kirstin and I are doing awesome! We are in love and she spent the night last night."

"Isn't that a little fast?", asked Blair.

"Not really.", quickly replied Justin.

"We have known each other since high school."

"Hmm. Well..I am happy for both of you.", Blair said smiling. "You mentioned you have mixed emotions. So what else is on your mind?"

"I have a tumor.", said Justin bluntly.

"No. Really. What else is on your mind?", Blair asked with a half smile.

"Really. I do have a tumor. It is in the lower part of my brain at the brain stem. That part of the brain controls breathing and many internal organs including the heart. That has been the cause of my headaches. Unfortunately I have also been experiencing shortness of breath. The cause of this was most likely my head injury I had when I was in the car accident many years ago. The scans show that this tumor is located in a very very sensitive portion of the brain stem and cannot be operated on without causing permanent damage or death."

"Wow", Blair murmured. "Can you excuse me for a moment? I need to use the restroom."

Blair went into the men's restroom. He looked in the mirror and just stared at his reflection. Turning on the water faucet, Blair wet his hands and splashed his face. 'Think. Think', he said to himself. 'Okay. Okay'. Blair regained his composure and walked back to the table, where the food was waiting for him.

"Are you okay Blair?", asked Justin.

"Yes. I am very okay.", he said smiling. "Not only am I okay, I have a plan."

"For some reason, I thought you would have some ideas.", responded Justin. "What is your plan?"

"First you must realize that we cannot be passive. We need to make this top priority over everything else. I am sure the reason why you wrote that letter to yourself was because you knew this event was happening. We need to make your going back in time absolute top priority. You need to take an indefinite leave of absence from the University. I will tell my boss that I have personal problems and that I need to take time off.", Blair expressed.

"You don't have to do that. You may get fired.", retorted Justin.

"I will do that! I doubt I will get fired. They consider me a 'key' employee. Besides, if I do, I can find that position in another city. Like I said, we need to make this top priority. We will spend every day with your subjects and meditating. We will have you nap several times during the day. Time is of the essence. I will let my work know tomorrow.", Blair announced.

"Okay. I will do the same. But, what about Kirstin?", asked Justin.

"You will need to make up some kind of an excuse.", said Blair.

"But I can't. I won't lie to her.", retorted Justin.

"She knows about my tumor and she even said, 'We will figure this out.'

"Then you need to explain to her, that you think you have figured out a way on how to combat your illness and that you know what your doing. Tell her you cannot tell her yet and she needs to trust you. Let her know that you will be less available."

Just then Justin's cell phone rung. "It is her. What do I say?"

"You need to tell her this in person. Just pick up the phone."

"Hello?", answered Justin.

"Hi. I had my rehearsal. I did horrible. I was so unprepared. I almost lost my part." she sighed.

"I am sorry.", Justin said.

"If I don't nail it next week. Then they will replace me. I have waited for this opportunity for so long. The timing couldn't be worse. I have way to much happening.", she said.

"We will make it work. Let's discuss it tomorrow morning for breakfast. Do you know where the restaurant, Peter's Pancakes is?"

"Yes I do."

"Let's meet there and we can talk.", he said.

"Okay. I love you.", she said.

"I love you too. I will see you tomorrow."

They hung up the phone. "Well. She earned a major role in a Shakespeare play. She did terribly on her first rehearsal. I feel somewhat responsible because she has been spending time with me."

Blair articulated, "I feel bad for her, but this works out perfectly. She needs to focus on the play and you need to focus on your health."  
  
The next morning Justin and Kirstin met up and although she wasn't happy about him trying to battle his illness by himself, she had no choice, but to trust him. This also gave her an opportunity to spend all her time practicing for her role.  Later that day, Justin told the University how he has been diagnosed and that he will need to take a leave of absence. Blair also told his supervisor at his work.  


For the next few weeks, Justin and Blair spent all of their time focusing and studying. Not only did Justin become proficient at meditating and dream control, Blair wasn't bad himself. Kirstin's rehearsal the following Friday went well too. Although they didn't see each other, she and Justin spoke every evening on the phone before they went to sleep. Katie also enjoyed hearing Kirstin's voice.  Kirstin was happy to hear that he seemed like he was in good spirits. Whenever she inquired about his game plan on how he was conquering his illness, he only replied, "Time will tell." Justin's headaches and breathing issues became more frequent and both Blair and Justin knew they had limited time. Justin kept insisting he was ready as most of the time he could control his dreams. Often he decided he wanted to fly in his dream. Many times he would end up flying to Kirstin where he would spend romantic time with her. Even though Blair understood that time was of the essence, he argued that Justin was not yet ready because 20% of the time, he couldn't recognize that he was dreaming. The letter he wrote to himself said that he must perfect dream control to continue.

During this time, Justin had thought about telling his mother and father about his tumor, however he knew that Katherine would want to get involved and then that could screw up their current plan. He did however, tell his mother about Kirstin and she was excited and was looking forward to meeting her.  
  
On the other side of town at the local park, Judge Jacoby met up with Larry Van Morrison. They were sitting next to each other on the park bench.

"There is an investigation for the murder of Mark Hannity. You don't know anything about that. Right!", said the Judge.

Judge Walter Jacoby suspected Larry, but didn't want to know.

Larry hesitated, but then realized that was not a question, but it was a statement. "Right.", he said.

"Good, I didn't think so. They have very little evidence to go on and whoever did that would be smart to lay low for a few months. He would be smart if he stayed inside and watched TV or did anything to keep himself busy. You agree. Right?", said the Judge.

"Ah...yeah. He should.", copied Larry.

"By the way", continued the Judge, "Did I ever thank you for saving my life?"

"Yes you did old friend. Many times. I can't believe we were in our early 20's and on our first mission in the Middle East. You saved my life too.", said Larry.

"I want you to know this Walt, I would do anything for you. Anything. You just name it.", said Larry.

"I know you would Larry. As I would do anything for you. For the next few months, just keep a low profile." 


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68068.52
ETH 3873.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64