Justin Time (Chapter 27) An Original Science Fiction Novel

in #fiction8 years ago

                                   

 

Link to beginning of story:

https://steemit.com/fiction/@justephen/justin-time-chapter-1-an-original-novel

Link to Chapter 26: Listening Through the Vent

https://steemit.com/fiction/@justephen/justin-time-chapter-26-an-original-science-fiction-novel

Chapter 26 review:

Justin goes back in time to visit Madam Clearvision again. The letter he hands her, gives a tip that Misty Mountain will win the Preakness and she should tell that to Mark Hannity. Justin finds a vent in the back of Clearvision's shop where he could hear her conversations with your clients.

Chapter 27: Justin Remembers

When Justin arrived back to the present , he first saw Blair and then he saw Katie.

"Katie, what are you doing here?"

"She came through the kitchen pantry. We must of left it unlocked or open.", answered Blair.

"We need to be much more careful than that."

"Yes we do.", agreed Blair.

"Katie, what are you playing with?", asked Justin.

Katie presented a piece of fabric and showed it to Justin.  Justin just stared at it for a moment.  The fabric was black and white and made of fine cotton.

"Where did you get that?!", he said and then remembered where that came from.

Katie gestured that she found it in his old dresser drawer mingled in the back.

"Wow Katie. May I have it?"

Katie walked over to Justin and handed him the fabric. Justin began to ruminate as many memories started coming to the forefront. Blair could see Justin was deep in thought as Justin was just studding the fabric.

Finally Justin said,"I just recalled something crucial. You know how when I was a little boy, and that stranger broke into my bedroom window."

"Yeah.", said Blair.

"He ripped a portion of his sweater and this is the fabric."

"You kept it for that long?" 

"I must of just put it in my dresser drawer."

"Give me one moment. I will be right back.", uttered Justin as he ran upstairs.

Moments later Justin returned with his favorite sweater. Justin put the fabric next to the hole and it was a perfect match.

"I was that stranger! That is so obvious now. I can't believe I just realized it."

"How could you of known?", asked Blair.

"Until now, that portion of your memory was completely blocked."

"That was me trying to tell myself not to go into the car."

Justin started recalling even more as he continued, "Remember when my mom took us to the zoo?"

"I think I do.", wondered Blair.

"You remember. I wanted to see the monkey's and you wanted to see the boring tortoise."

"Yes! Now I remember. That was fun."

"When you and mom just returned with the ice cream cones, I noticed a man that looked like the stranger behind the popcorn or cotton candy vendor. That was me too."

"I don't remember you mentioning that you saw him there."

"I don't think I did mention him. OUCH!"

"Your head again?"

"Yes.", he said as he massaged his upper neck.

“Why wouldn't have you mention him?" 

"I don't know. I was only seven years old."  Justin thought even more. "What that means is that all of our effort so far has not changed a thing. We may be wasting our time."

"You need to trust yourself and follow the plan as it is detailed. It appears you went through great strides to accomplish this task."

"By the way”, continued Blair, "How did your visit with Madam Clearvision go?"

"Oh. It went well. She appeared to be a little afraid of me though."

"Well of course. You would be afraid too if a man from the future started interrupting your life."

"She doesn't know I am from the future."

"True, but you know what I mean."

"Shall we meet here tomorrow morning again?", asked Justin?

"No. I can't tomorrow. I will be tied up. I am going to be an expert witness on a forgery case. I will be available the following morning though."

"Okay. Maybe I can relax and spend a leisurely day with Kirstin. It feels good to have someone I can confide with and talk to."

"And what am I? Chopped liver?", asked Blair.

"Yes you are.", smiled Justin.


"Thanks Frank. I knew you would help out. What is your plan?", asked operations manager Elroy Lemons.

Frank Knuth had worked for the CIA for 23 years. He suddenly had to retire for unknown reasons. Frank stood all of 5' tall and was very thinly built.

"My plan is not of concern to you. I want the first 5 million now and the second when I complete the job. You can tell your boss, Dr. Filbrick, that the Time family will not best him again. Not on this time traveling discovery."

 
Kirstin's door bell rang.  She had spent the last two hours preparing and cleaning her apartment so that it would have a nice first impression for Justin.

"It looks like he's here.", yelled a voice from the back.

"Thanks Connie.", replied Kirstin.

When Kirstin opened the door, she had a big smile. It was only 11:00 am and they were planning on spending the whole day together.

"Where is Katie?", she asked teasingly.

"Let me show you around."

"Wow. Your place is so nicely decorated.", commented Justin.

"Thank you. My roommate Connie is still here, but she will be leaving shortly.

"Oh, there she is now."

"I was just leav..oh!", started Connie when she saw Justin.

"You look familiar.", queried Justin.

Connie said, "I don't think we've met.", but her eyes said differently.

"Yes. I am trying to think where I know you. Hmm.."

"Really? Why do you think you know her?", asked Kirstin.

"No..I am sure we haven't met before.", hurried Connie as she started walking towards the door.

"I got it. I remember. You handed me the letter during my book signing!"

"What letter could you be talking about?", Connie bluffed.

"Oh my god?", cried Justin.

"What? What?", panicked Kirstin.

Connie just stood there. She didn't know what to do.

"What?", yelled Kirstin. "What is going on here?"

"Okay. Who are you? And how did you get that letter?", asserted Justin.

Both Justin and Kirstin were staring at Connie. Connie stood frozen, not knowing what to do.

"Okay. Okay.", she said.

"Let me think. I need a moment."

Both Kirstin and Justin stood staring wide eyed at Connie.

"Okay. We need to sit down so I can explain. Unfortunately, Kirstin will have to leave."

"Anything you can say to me, you can say to Kirstin.", blurted Justin.

"I can't. I just can't", she panicked.

"Yes you can.", he demanded. "Kirstin already has knowledge of my endeavors."

"Okay, but I was sworn to secrecy. Many years ago I worked at a hospital. This was before I was married and before I switched careers to be a school teacher.  There was one late evening that I will never forget. Not only were there crazy incidents with the patients, a visitor had a heart attack too.”

“I was doing my rounds, when I was approached by a man. The man told me that this was a life and death situation and I must follow the instructions exactly. He also told me not to share this interaction with anyone. He made me promise. He was so intense. He handed me an envelope and told me not to open it until I get home. He wanted me to open it privately with no one else around. When I got home, I opened it. Inside was another sealed envelope. My instructions were to hand the inserted sealed envelope to a man who will be having a book signing. It instructed me the exact future date. I had kept the envelope secret and safe over all those years. I was instructed to never open that envelope, nor tell anyone about it." 

"Was your name Connie Latresky?", ask Justin.

"Yes. Latresky is my maiden name. After my husband died, I wanted to keep his name."

"My mom told me so many great things about you. You helped us in so many ways according to her."

Finally all the pieces game together for Connie too. She felt a sudden boost of relief as well as excitement.

"Katherine was and is one very special woman. I can't believe what a successful wonderful man you have become too Justin. Before you recovered, we all prayed for you. I was so excited when your mom was able to treat you. That letter to me was intentionally written in such a way, that I would know as little as possible. It wasn't until I actually arrived at your book signing, that I realized, who you were. I wanted to ask you so many questions, but was explicitly told that I cannot."

"So you knew I was dating Justin, whom you delivered this envelope too?", asked Kirstin, who felt betrayed.

"Actually no. You told me he was a university professor, but I didn't connect the dots."

"Well, now that everything is out in the open, please let me know if there is anything else I can do. Feel free to visit anytime.", continued Connie.  "I really need to go now. We can talk more later."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69279.36
ETH 3870.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73