Heart ♡ Fork

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

I was listening to this track recently during a long drive on the Autobahn. Great build-up, magical. Made me think about plenty of stuff like love, life, death. And my chances of becoming a statistic on the street. Badly-timed, I thought to myself -

"What a beautiful track. Don't mind this being my last one if I'm destined to get into some fatal accident tonight, like 5-minutes later. Maybe that bend over there will be my last."

The music went on uninterrupted with its sweet chord progressions and dreamy mood sensations. I was just cruising down the interstellar highway, much like a stallion in the night. This ain't a Ferrari, and sure as hell not a Lambo. Just a horse-powered piece of heavy metal. Then I caught myself thinking dark thoughts again -

"This car is going to skid and flip down the cliff while I'm listening to the most beautiful music in the world. I don't mind."

That uplifting drive turned out to be a series of morbid questions and halfway-revelations, thanks to the long and winding road. What should I be doing now if everyday's my last? After what seems like an eternity towards the end, a voice whispered to me -

"Play out your fantasy."


In memory.


Gif remixed from source using Mosh and Giphy.

Sort:  

SICK track @kevinwong, I could definitely see this as a perfect soundtrack vibe as Van is having some similar thoughts, realize just how crazily his futuristic world is changing! Thanks so much for posting and very excited to hear more!!

Thanks @dougkarr - looking forward to what others write / suggest too :). Was actually writing this for something else but realised that maybe hardforks are quite like a change of heart, a leap of faith, stepping into unexplored territory. Might add to the theme. Gonna crawl around the tag today!

Oh My God.. what a great track! Kevin you have a philosophic bend.. that track and your thoughts made me almost crying. Everybody connects with his own experiences in life in such a quiet moment of listening.

My 6 year old son Leon-Lennox had his enrolment in the school today. Now all the pictures float through my head to find anchors.. I gave him his sugar cup (a great tradition in our state Saxony here in germany) and he was full of pride and joy at this moment. I said to him "Now you belong to the great!" After the official ceremony he turned to me with a innocent smile and said "Thank you dad that you and mama made this wonderful sugar cup for me". I clapped him lightly on the shoulder on the way downstairs and i felt this immense sense of gratitude. It was a magical moment every father is looking for.. Thank you for connecting again to this moment!


animation from giphy.com

BTW: it beamed me to another magical moment of my childhood at a small funfair in our town. There was this wagon full of Arcade machines. On the entrance i heard the bloodcurdling slaps and screams of Vigilante but as i was inside the wagon i heard apart from the noise that beautiful relaxing music coming from somewhere in the back. And then i saw somebody holding a steering wheel and he controlled a bright red Ferrari with a guy and his blonde girlfriend on the passenger seat. He passed sunny beaches, colorful meadows and the desert. The speed was breathtaking and that beautiful beautiful soundtrack! Outrun was a master piece to build that sunny dream scenario for a kid..


animation from giphy.com

edit
i researched the full album, really retro! You picked the best track from the album i think. I grew up with Spectrum, IBM PC, C64, Amiga 500 and also gaming consoles like Atari 2600/7800, Super NES, PS1 we tried all the systems as kids, played a lot and learned step by step to use it for more serious things.

Oh wow thanks for the rather intimate response! Glad this seem to have connected with some feels and memories, although we gained quite a different experience out of it. Power of music eh :D Oddly I think I only remember Super NES, somehow the older ones never showed up around the south east asian region or maybe I was just too young too remember. Nowadays, iPads are the portal :P

This gif makes me feel incredibly good. I was 8 or 10. California drive forever!

yes it's timeless for me too, always brings back those memories :)

A real feeling! It's priceless

Never been in Cali before, but I know what u mean :p lol

Hi @kevinwong I've written an article about you, check it out if you can, thanks.

21 Best Steemians Of The Day To Follow 6th August 2017

https://steemit.com/steemit/@jzeek/21-best-steemians-of-the-day-to-follow-6th-august-2017

It is wonderful to see how much power music can have. How it can toy with your emotions and make you remise and have nostalgic memories. It is uncanny but sublime and serene at the same time. I find great grace and solace in music which I believe has saved my life on a number of occasions. 'Music Saved My Life' sounds like an excellent post I can write up.

This track does have a vaporwave psychedelic feel to it. I feel like I'm on another planet living a dream world like I'm on some hallucinogenic drug or something haha. Such a soft constant beautiful hush lullaby that cradles you in a blanket of glee. Something I can honestly listen to for hours.

Life is like a bridge. The purpose of life is not to live. It is to fulfil its purpose. You are the primary decision maker on when you think your task of living has been accomplished. Make your fantasy into a reality. So live now to the fullest while you can. Happiness is not the destination, but it is the journey we are on now.

I feel jubilant and uplifted now on this euphoric drug we call music. Thank you for this great share @kevinwong

I am typing this, while listening to this song. When I started reading your story, I couldn't help but thinking of my scariest - but kind of beautiful in a way - moment in a car ever.

I was sitting in the back of an extremely old van with my twinsister and two dogs. We had no seatbelts and were sitting on wooden benches at the side/ along the length of the car. The van was driven by my sister's boyfriend, who was a drug addict and didn't have a driver's license. Next to him was a friend of his. Both guys where drunk and possibly on speed or another similar drug.

It all happened after they returned from what was supposed to be a coffee break. We got into an argument with them as my sister and I couldn't drive a car and they weren't in a state to drive one, but they didn't listen to us and started the car anyway, put the music on as loud as possible and drove off.

One of the songs that stood out was Tom Petty's free fallin'. We were in the Algarve, Portugal's beautiful coastal area. I thought this might be the last couple of minutes of my life as the guy behind the driving wheel was out of his mind. We got off the road once and on again and later we where driving close to the cliffs. We eventually got to an abrupt stop, as the roof-rack of the car got stuck under some kind of arcade above the read. The roof-rack and the bikes that where on top of the car fell off, the car stopped, we all got out and I started swearing in Portuguese:
"Fodes Caralho!"

It's now 6 years later and I'm still alive. It was the scariest moment of my life but I still love that song by Tom Petty.

Thanks for sharing your story and this great track!

🖖🏻🖖🏻🖖🏻🖖🏻

Looks like flying ducks at first, until i zoomed in xD

While driving some music can simply take you to a state of trance and make you have philosophical questions. I love songs with a good build up and this one seems like one of those songs.
I used to drive around the night city with my cousin, we were quiet for most of the time because we tuned in some chill songs and enjoyed the ride like there's no tomorrow.

Kevin I swear, that happens to more people than you think. These odd morbid questions popping in. Questioning reality itself and your existence.

Insane how somehow we all end up waking up the next day and dreaming on. Playing out your fantasy is really the only option when we are nothing but people floating on a rock in a vast space called the universe or so I like to believe as it gives a hope of endless possibilities regardless of how limited my current situation may be.

Great post!

This is def sick bro. Connected my phone to my car audio system, played this whilst driving through the windy road of Ferringhi on the way home, I think you can imagine how we were feeling. Bravo!

Darn it !!! Reading all these comments , the music must be something else ! I wish I can play it but I will wake up my partner beside me lol! So I will come back here in the morning . I am curious because you write u would accept this as the last sounds you hear... so therefore I picture it having a soft tone , & I would like that too :]
Love your writing how you explain something we take so granted ( that we will make that journey) , can end in an instant.

Live the moments <3

Enjoy the listen later, nowhere near soft though, but kinda uplifting. thanks for dropping by :)

I had a listen ツ
Definitely not like anything I have listened to before!.. I can see where you could adrift away into a trance!... & turning things poetic, I could relate the twists and turns of the melody to the twists and turns of your drive & even more profoundly- life itself.
Thank u :*

Very nice track. Loved the chord progression in the music and it does(at least for me) signifies love, life and death. Enjoying the music!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 69718.75
ETH 3706.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.26