Precision, Protection, Perfection - An Original Short Story

in #fiction4 years ago

Precision, Protection, Perfection - An Original Short Story by K H Simmons

image.png
Photo by Franck V. on Unsplash

Precision, protection, perfection. Charge complete. Good Morning Routine – initiated.

'Good morning children. It is 6.30am and this is your designated wake up call. Today is Monday. You have approximately forty-five minutes to get ready.' The door slammed in my face. That was OK though, they were out of bed and that was the objective. Step one complete. Step two - breakfast.

Mrs Cutler likes her eggs well done, much to the disappointment of Mr Cutler who prefers them soft. Joseph has chocolate spread on toast, despite my frequent arguments that this is not a nutritionally balanced breakfast. Will eats the fruit salad I prepare without complaint, although observations dictate that he would have preferred a less nutritionally balanced meal too.

Step three, prepare their bags. Add completed homework to the bags. Place file beside car keys for Mrs Cutler. Open door for Mr Cutler, who is late again, as he never appreciates his 6.00am wake up call. Step four, feed the dog. The dog growls until I move away. Step five, hygiene checks.

'Joseph, Will, have you brushed your teeth? Washed your faces? Combed your hair?' I ask.

'Yes, get out my face, stupid bot!' Joseph snaps, collecting his bag from by the door.

'Please remember to collect your revision tools so you can study for your algebra test next week,' I remind him. He makes a rude hand gesture at me behind the back of his mother. He slams the door behind him.

'Can we go to the park tonight?' Will asks Mrs Cutler.

She waves him away as she is reading a file ready for work. I recognise that Will is disappointed.

'Will, if it is permitted, I will take you to the park tonight,' I suggest. Mrs Cutler nods, granting us permission.

Will rushes forward and wraps his arms around me. I am unsure what this gesture means. I will contemplate it while the family are away.

About Me

I'm Katy, but go by K H Simmons officially. I write a lot of sci-fi, dark fantasy and dystopian fiction. If you're here for sparkly vampires, you're in the wrong place ;)

I frequently post short stories on my Facebook page, as well as work on full length novels. If you want more short stories like the above - check out my anthology Death, Demons & Dystopia available on Amazon/Kindle. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07YN5DY98

When I'm not writing, I can usually be found cuddling dogs, reading, at the gym or playing video games.

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account.
If you are a community leader and/or contest organizer, please join the Discord and let us know you if you would like to promote the posting of your community or contest.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61133.31
ETH 2887.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64