The Doyen [Short story, ch.2] [Magick Untold]

in #fiction6 years ago

Who was that guy? He was kinda cute...I wonder if he was an elf. Damn! Why did I have to run into him of all people?! Great now I'm gonna be late for the meeting with the council members of Shedeth! Gotta hurry.

Smack! "Who put this damn sign here?!" Ugh. Why did I have to be brought into this world as a Miucnur?! Their such clumsy creatures!

"Why do I feel a draft...down south..." I grab my robe.

"Dammit, all!" Now my robe is ripped, if I don't fix it soon my tail will be seen clearly. I can't reveal who I am just yet!

•••

"I'm sorry I'm so late Doyen!" Wow, what throne! I thought elves would have gone for the whole natural woody look instead of this huge golden thing! Are those gold leaves?! "It is somewhat natural looking..just a bit glamorous."

"What was that child? No, never mind. And there is no need to get so flustered, and you are not required to address us so formerly Josay."

"H-how?" How the hell did he know my name, I haven't told anyone from here and the only people who know me are in my homeland.

"My name is Lyir Tahlonam and we know all about you and your homeland Anlamthal. As well as the fact that you are hiding your identity with the aid of sorcery."

Oh, so he's one of those weird geezer-nerds who know everything and have contacts with spies.

"I would greatly appreciate it if you didn't think such thoughts Josay. We elves have many powers that the other races could never achieve."

What the heck he can read my mind!!

"Hahahaha yes, young one I can 'read' your mind. I would explain how it is done if it were possible to do in a short time. But seeing as how it isn't, let's get to the reason behind calling you before us."

Us? Hmmm, I bet those people behind him aren't really there and they're just some magick spell he performed! Did he just? He smirked! I wish he wouldn't read my mind, now I have to be wary of even my own thoughts!

"Yes, quite true, be careful. I may not be the only one that will be able to see into your soul. Well now, I called you here from Anlamthal because you are well known for your healing magick and for that reason I would like you to travel with a certain someone who is having a party tonight. The Doyen are not sure where exactly you are supposed to travel just yet... we are expecting another vision to come that will tell us."

So this geezer-nerd is the cause of those boorish dreams every night of Shedeth? A party? Great my companion is a drunk. "Travels? I never saw anything regarding travels in my dreams. It was bad enough I traveled here from Anlamthal to see if my dreams meant anything."

"Tancave, you heard right. The real reason you are here is to simply travel and explore the land. I, including the leaders of the other seven continents, have had a vision. We are not quite sure what it will lead to but, in the vision, we saw two people quite clearly."

Finally, some useful information! "Which was me and whoever that other guy is who is to be my companion?"

"Tancave."

"Sorry I don't know much elvish... what does tancave mean?"

"Don't know elvish! My dear, tancave means yes. You had better start learning Elvish from your soon-to-be companion!"

"What is my partner's name anyway?" Hopefully, it's someone useful with magick. I don't see traveling around places I am unfamiliar with going smoothly without someone strong.

His face twisted and a creepy perverted smile grew across his dirty old geezer-nerd face. "Well I guess you should find out what his name is at some point... his name is Danos Echee. Now tell me if I'm wrong but I do believe that your species is capable of what you call a tcarnsc."

"You are correct, and unfortunately it is made through contact of the skin. But to complete it you have to..." kiss and become master and pet. Another nuisance of the Miucnur: we have some crazy insatiable urge to "belong" to someone else. If we do not fulfill this desire by our first centenary. Well, it's unpleasant. I have several hundred years to go however before that!

"Yes quite right! Well, I advise you to complete the tcarnsc with that man you bumped into just before coming here."

"You even knew about that?! Why should I complete it with that weird guy?" Seriously, this guy is creepy.

"Well, you don't have to if you don't want to but generally your kind completes them with the first elf they come into contact with. The match-up usually results in a pair that is unrivaled in whatever career path they take."

"WHAT! You must think awful highly of your race, don't you! The natural magick of beauty that elves possess don't always work you know!" Fuck that! There is no way I'm ever talking to him again!

"Hohoho! How nice it is to be young. That girl will go far with Danos. Sadly, I can see both a complicated and rough road ahead. I guess I should send a message to her so she can at least get within hearing distance of the party." This looking glass is a life saver, I can teleport all over the town with it!

•••

Pant pant pant. "Ugh, I feel fat every time I run too much. Why did I run so far from the Doyen building? I just went and tired myself out now. At least I've had a chance to take a close look at the rest of Shedeth and so far it really is a beautiful place. The trees are so big too. Looking around I notice the habitats the elves of Shedeth have chosen. I wonder how you're supposed to get into the homes up there in the trees? Maybe teleportation magick? This place is so much more advanced than Anlamthal is. We just have houses made of hollowed out tree trunks. These guys even have some of the trees shaped by magick to make bridges between trees!

I guess all I can do is wander around till that old man gives me the signal or whatever to find my new companion. "No! It sounds like it's some kind of arranged marriage!" Shit. Everyone is looking at me now... it's like they've seen a ghost or something. Jeez, I'll just leave this area and find a place that is relatively empty. But first I'd like to have some food, I haven't eaten anything since last night.

It took some time to find one but, I found a cheap looking diner. Noms! Too hungry to go looking for another place, in I go!

I'm in shock. This place is supposed to be cheap, did I dream the sign falling off the wall just outside? Why is everything so expensive here?! I'll only be able to buy a sandwich and an apple with what I have. Sigh, I didn't exactly have a lot of money back at home either. I guess with a more up to date land like this things will naturally cost more.

"Uhm, excuse me, could I have one salmon sandwich and one apple please?"

"Sure thing miss."

Well, a least the inhabitants are friendly and it doesn't seem like there are any trouble makers in Shedeth. They probably have some kind of high-level magick to deal with them hehe.

"That'll be 1265 Rehz," clack clatter, "thank you, miss. Have a good day."

Sheesh, why do people have to stare so much at me? Maybe I should have disguised as a different race? I am beginning to think Humans are a bit too rare now. "Ah, the regrets!"

Now let's see if I can find a place to be alone. Is that... no way it's the guy I ran into this morning! Hah, this is my chance to nail him... even though I was the one who ran into him. For now, I'll just follow him then I'll get him. Oh no! He just looked over here. Did he see me? I hope not, wait where's he going? Is that a bar? Ugh, I can't go in there. I'll just roam around here for a bit.

"While I'm waiting for him to come out let's take a closer look at this place." It seems they are quite in tune with nature here... elves in the country side, how fitting. "No way! They have holographic maps here! This place is way more high tech than I gave them credit for. Oooh! I can swish my hand back and forth through it! So cool!" Oops, I've got to be more careful. I don't want people noticing me too much just yet.

Hmmm. according to this map, I am right here by this gold dot. The bar is just behind me and the Doyen estate was back down the road to the left... and to the right is all residential buildings. "I guess after I hit that guy I'll go to the right and look for a place to stay."

•••

"For the love of Faeis! How long is he going to be in there?" Fwoosh!

What was that?

"Oi! Josay! If you want to remain unseen I advise you hide because that boy you've been following has a friend that will be passing by again in a couple minutes."

"Kyaaa! When, what, how did you?? I'm not stalking him! Again?"

"Hurry hurry, time is short!" Fwoosh!

That old geezer-nerd again, how the hell did he know where I was exactly. Suddenly, it hit me. Did he just teleport all the way from the building we met in? Teleporting as little as 20 Nurn is hard enough, let alone that distance! It must be over 200 Narn!

That bald midget must be the guy geezer-nerd was talking about... shit! Gotta hide, gotta hide! "Ooh, I know a stealth incantation for instances like this hehe. I hope it holds up long enough. "Esgal!" I really should learn to speak elvish, it would really help me learn new spells.

I look into the device that was near me operating the strange hologram map. My reflection was nothing more than a hazy shadow. Yes! It's working!

I glance over in the direction of baldy. That guy sure is in a hurry, I wonder why? At least he didn't see me, I wish I had thanked my magick trainers before I left Anlamthal. I guess all that's left to do now is continue waiting. "Ugh, I hate waiting!"

•••

"What are they doing, the bar should be closing now... actually it should have closed a while ago. Oh here he comes here he comes! Ack! What am I supposed to hit him with now that's he's here?! Apple! That apple tasted funny anyway. Now then time to use an accuracy spell so I'm sure to hit him hehe."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61745.50
ETH 2898.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61