How I Came Up With “Short-Lived Concepts”, A @steemfiction Story

in #fiction5 years ago

ShLCo_s.jpg

“Short-lived Concepts” is the title of my story for the book “Voices in the Darkness: Tales from the Steem Blockchain” which the @steemfiction authors collective, an initiative by @jeezzle, released a little more than a week ago on Amazon.

Before I tell you a thing or two about the genesis of my piece, here’s the book:


Our book Voices in the Darkness e-book is out! It's alive! It's electronic! It's supernatural!

Steemfiction_book_1_Voices_in_the_Darkness.jpg

And it's also paperback now!

Voices in the Darkness paperback

Voices_it_Dark_Paperback_s.jpg

Stories authored by:

@janenightshade, @improv, @felt.buzz, @jeezzle, @manoldonchev, @stinawog, @giantbear, @blueeyes8960

Huge thanks to everybody involved, to our ninja editor, to the initiator @jeezzle and the @steemfiction, and to everybody else supporting our work! This is a project, supporting Steem in general.


It all began with a song. It was part of my working title “The Omega Project” which dropped off after I decided on not actually including lines of the song in my tale. The song is Omega by Bruce Dickinson, Iron Maiden singer who had a few years of solo career. The way I understand it, it’s about the distant future we don’t think about. The time some billions of years from now when the Sun will change before it dies, making Earth uninhabitable.


Lyrics by Bruce Dickinson and Roger Ramirez


So imagine a world on the brink of that moment. When the Sun burns life away but the night is still cool enough to sustain life. If life were to find a way to live again after being turned to ash with the coming of each morning. Magic? Evolution? Hacks? Supernatural forces at work? I’ll leave it up to you.

There were a few other concepts. (Not so short-lived, I hope.)

So what if life was only for one night? Time is a matter of perspective, so maybe one night would be enough to those who can have it all and feel fulfilled. After all, people would be growing to their full potential in minutes, remembering all that their species has ever learned, their brains so powerful, turning concepts into reality.

It seems that the Zen ideal has been accomplished. People being happy with what they are and what they have under near apocalyptic circumstances. Free from fear of death, living for the moment in perfect harmony with their present, past and future selves. On and on the circle goes. But what if it were within another circle? What if somebody wanted out? There are layers in the story and not everything is what it seems. You may see a lot of things I never mentioned.

I will be very happy to have your feedback!

Yours,

Manol

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

Sort:  

Thank you manoldonchev! You've just received an upvote of 3% by @ArtTurtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your art and music posts

Please come visit me as I've updated my daily report with more information about my upvote value and how to get the best upvote from me.

Oh, congrats for being part of it, @manoldonchev! 👍🍻

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks, beers to you, too :)

Thanks for the background on how you chose and developed your story. It's interesting to see how other authors come up with ideas for stories. It makes reading the story (which I loved, by the way) richer and more meaningful when you have some insight into it's beginning!

Thanks you, too! I am happy to learn that :)

You have definitely tweaked my interest
Hmmmm
Might have to get my hands on this book :)

Happy I had this effect :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98