The cellphone you found

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)
The following fictional story was inspired by a dream I had last night. I have no idea how this came to be, but for some reason I started typing and I didn't stop for a while. Needless to say, it's not finished, but if there is more to the story inside this head of mine, I'll work on part 2.

As always, thank you for reading my crazy blog!

@meno


Disclaimer
The following is a transcript of cell phone audio recording belonging to X, his whereabouts are currently a mystery, but he has been deemed armed and dangerous. If you have any information regarding his current residence please contact the authorities.

(Audio 00001001.3GPP - 08-17-2018)

I must be losing my mind, this can’t be happening, and the worst part is that no one seems to care. I mean, they care, but they can’t add two and two together, they think this is normal, this is the normal level of “bad” or something.

Of course I know the world has bad things, and of course I know crimes happen all the time, but this many? And in this town? That just can’t be, I don’t accept it. I need to talk to someone of authority, someone has to have noticed the trees, how come no one talks about the trees? Are they all blind?

Well, I’ve decided I’m going to record everything on this phone, I’m just going to keep a log so that I can study this information. I’m going to amass enough evidence that no one will be able to deny these crimes are connected.

In the past three days I’ve visited four of these homes, of course they are all taped up and do not dare to walk inside at the moment, I’m not trying to get arrested. But it’s quite visible, all of them, with no exception have dead trees. How can that be? While all the other trees in the neighborhood are green and alive, how could it be that just these trees die all of the sudden?

I suspect the killer starts with the tree, or marks the house by killing the tree. I know that doesn’t make any sense, and if you are listening to this recording, you might think that I’m just acting crazy and I would not blame you, but can we really chug it up to coincidence? Can we really be that blind?

(Audio 00001003.GPP - 08-18-2018)

I wrote the Sheriff a letter, I didn’t use my name because I know he thinks I’m crazy, he told me so himself. Stupid incident that happened 10 years ago, I was high and he never let me live that one down.

Anyways, I also took some pictures and printed them out for him. I don’t want to use emails and he’s old school anyways. I’m afraid someone would find out it was me somehow, and dismiss my findings entirely.

However, It’s been 4 hours since I left the letter in his inbox. I’m sure he’s gotten it by now and nothing, not one care is being dispatched. This is infuriating, they need to find out what killed the trees!!!!

Oh, but don’t get me wrong, I know they need to find out who killed those people, but I’m telling you, if you find out what is killing those trees, you will find out who is killing those people, I know you will.

(Audio 00001008.GPP - 08-20-2018)

I’ve waited long enough and no one is doing a damn thing anymore, the tape got removed from the first house and I think I can sneak in through the back without anyone seeing me. Maybe I can find something in the house, some product that they’ve been using, I have no idea, something.

I’m walking in right now….

Ok, everything is still kind of messy, but that was expected. I think the murder happened in the kitchen, might as well go straight there…

Yes, barely any cleanup, I’m starting to regret doing this, but I won’t leave with empty hands, fuck that.

(Audio 00001009.GPP - 08-20-2018)

Just left the house, I went into the rooms too. I mean, I know nothing happened in the rooms, but at this point I think it’s smart for me to be looking where no one is.

I did find one curious thing, It could be nothing, a little person carved from wood. It looks pretty raw as if it was done with a knife.



I don’t know much about the family, I guess I need to find out more. But what an odd hobby for a little girl, nothing wrong with it I guess, just not common.

I saved a picture of it on this phone too, but I’m not taking it, it gives me creeps.

(Audio 00001014.GPP - 08-22-2018)

I noticed my neighbors tree started to die two days ago, the night I came back from that family’s house the leafs were looking unhealthy and today most of them are on the floor.

What in the hell is happening? I can see my neighbor just cleaning the leafs not even wondering why his is the only tree that is experiencing Autumn.

He does have kids, but they are all grown up, so this could not be connected at all, maybe I’m starting to see patterns where there are none, maybe I am going crazy.

(Audio 00001019.GPP - 08-24-2018)

Ok, I’m freaking out right now, I wish I was crazy but this is really happening. My neighbors grandkids just showed up today. Today of all days, and the tree looks completely dead now.

Before I recorded this, I went up to the tree and touched it, its rotten, How can that be? I’m not a tree expert, but I do know trees can’t rot that fast, it’s just impossible, that is not how nature works.

Should I warn him? I can’t, there is no way that I could, Why would he care? He’s going to think I’ve lost my mind, call the cops on me again like he did all those years ago, and …..

No, I don’t want to think about this, this can’t be happening…

I’m going to stay up all night, If anyone approaches that house I’ll be ready to act.

(Audio 00001022.GPP - 08-25-2018)

It’s 4 am right now and the night has been very quiet, I can barely stay up… Maybe I’m just being an idiot after all.

I should listen to my brother and go back to see Dr. Kent, I need the stupid pills after all, I’m killing myself with the anxiety and nobody cares anyways.

I’ll call Dr Kent in the morning, I think I’ve touched bottom here…

(Audio 00001023.GPP - 08-25-2018)

HOLY SHIT, HOLY SHIT… I’m walking over, the police are at my neighbors house, someone broke in last night and….

….
…..
….
The kids are …..

Sort:  

... trees?

X is schizophrenic, and doesn't remember what his Y-counterpart did?

Fun read meno, curious to see what you have in store for X.

i may be losing my mind after all, what if I'm x?

Hey, @meno.

Great start. Lots of ground covered in a short period of time, with a lot to work with. With first person narrative, we see and know only what our narrative/protagonist knows or wants us to know. Is X crazy? There's enough there to make X and the reader wonder, and yet, there's this strange happenings with the trees.

All good stuff. Many unanswered questions.

So, there needs to be a part two, is what I'm saying. :)

oh, thank you for the kind words... i'm sure ill get to writing part two, ill be taking a trip next week... im sure missing home will inspire part 2 easily.

Must be a business trip if you're going to be missing home. :) Okay, well, I'll look forward to seeing the rest whenever it arrives. I'm sure there's plenty of ways this could go. The question is, which one will you pick? :)

Great fiction

Read and learn your authentic creation

Posted using Partiko Android

Aren't our dreams amazing!? I was sorry to see this end @meno, and need to check your page to see if you've continued it :) Thanks for sharing!

did serena ever tell you about story jousting? its the best

No she did not. I will inquire as to this slight against my honour. readies leather glove and cutlass

jajaja qué es esto? jajaja me encanta leer cosas locas, y esta está muy, pero muy loca.
Me encanta jaja, Lo digo en serio, disculpa la risa, pero es que es muy loco.
Un abrazo desde Venezuela, mi amigo.

aveces me entra la locura! hahaha

never trust 4 am, thats the msg here.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

thank you very much

You got a 48.12% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @meno!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97