Serial Fiction | Cry Havok and Release the Dogs 2

in #fiction6 years ago

pexels-photo-618463.jpg

Being welcomed by the vaulted ones on their mountain top palace was a revelation. Being used all my life had prepared me to serve the will of these masters. Their word was reality. My role was to live and if necessary die for it. You see even the gods have enemies. They wage a never ending war in secret across the world on all fronts. Nations fall. Kings are brought low. Fortunes are won and lost. Power is gained but rarely held for long.

I was more than a good soldier. I was Ready and able to complete the most evil acts of violence to an end I would not question. Lawyers, bankers and politicians battle for both sides. Waging their own kind of war but it is meaningless without the enforcers. The real hand of power forever and always will belong to those few can can command the many. The monopoly on violence ensures the seat of control. In the end it was not violence that saved me. No amount of loyal soldiering can ensure your universal reward. It was not some cliche. Forget about love or courage. In the end it was nothing but pure chance. Not a satisfying conclusion for any reader until you consider this journey is cylindrical. Are we all not born by chance? If you have one then call it the grace of your god. That's all the same to me.

In return I enjoyed the spoils of war. I had everything I was programmed to want. Everything you have been programmed to want. My mantra given to me by my mentor was work hard, play harder for it could all be over tomorrow. Not a bad way to live any life. For us it was the only way to live.


[ 1 ]

▗▝ ▛▚▙▟▚▚▟▙▚▞▞▜▙▗▝

@MERCENARY

Sort:  

Interesting tone here. I like it. I'm a sci-fi writer too, so it's great to see more writers here on Steemit! Keep it up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55