Serial Fiction | Cry Havok and Release the Dogs 4

in #fiction6 years ago

pexels-photo-333850.jpg

Amos gives me a troubled look as we pull up to the gate. I roll my eyes at him, but deep down I feel the same. We both have terrifying memories of this place and mixed feeling about the people we work for.

Only six in ten candidates survive the on-boarding. The subject, if he makes it will be on our new team. It's on Amos and I to qualify him. Not a pleasant task and when it's over everyone involved will be a little less human. All of us know going in that we are passing a point of no return. I knew that day I was fortifying any alternate future I may have had in front of me. At first I would dream about a different me in a different universe who hadn't been recruited. A version of me with a normal life.

When I was young I wanted to be a model. What I didn't want was someone telling me what to do or even worse; telling me who to be. In a way I have exactly what I wanted. It may not seem that way to you. Definitely not at first. You'll get there.

The gate opens and we enter in silence. A massive courtyard lined with trees. A few people in red jackets stand at the entrance to a tall stone building. I yawn at the thought of what's to come. Has it lost it's power over me?

1 | 2 | 3

▗▝ ▛▚▙▟▚▚▟▙▚▞▞▜▙▗▝

@MERCENARY

Sort:  

Congratulations @mercenary! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @mercenary! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @mercenary! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61361.03
ETH 2932.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67