You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Surf's UP'!

in #fiction5 years ago

What a fun memory!


Some new for me expressions and words:

within an inch of its life. Does this mean being old?

The mere sight of it made me joyous. Why joyous not joyful? I thought joyous was related to events, while joyful to people's feelings.

‘goo goo eyed wonder’ I understand what that means - just a
funny expression

derision why not just contempt? What is the difference?

Sort:  

Within an inch of its life is a colloquial expression bordering on slang ............meant to be amusing because cleaning something is not life threatening.
I use words in an unusual form to make a reader take note as you did! One can be a little informal as it is Tevor telling the story and he is a teenager.
Yes goo goo means silly, amazed....like a kid might be.
Derision in this sentence means a good natured teasing whereas contempt would have been serious..... a fine line.
Excellent questions............I trust that my answers help............please feel free to question my answers. English is a language of many possibilities and one can develop one's own style by using words in a different way. No guarantee that I am 100 percent right!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57908.48
ETH 2913.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61