The Girl and the Pendulum (An Original Story – Part 16)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

Part Sixteen

“Boone speaking.”

“It’s Cattrell.”

“You found it.”

“Not it. Her.”

Pause. “Her?”

“Yes.”

“A woman stole 101?”

“Yes. I confronted her, and she escaped.”

A moment passes. “What can you tell me about her?”

“It was your wife.”

A garbled knocking sound. A muffled voice. And then: “How can this be? She died in a warehouse fire.”

“Was the body identified?”

“It was burned beyond recognition. But -- but I saw it. I saw her.”

“No DNA confirmation? Dental records?”

“No. Just my visual confirmation.”

“Sorry, Boone. This was a missing wife case in the end. The first one to escape me. She covered her trail well. And left everything behind--”

“Except the droid.”

“--except the droid, yes.”

“I can’t believe it. This changes everything.” A chilling silence. A whisper. “Whose body was it, then?”

Cattrell wondered. Another woman? Another wife? Another mother? “I don’t know. Is it really your problem?”

A pregnant pause. “Agreed. Let’s drop it.”

“Do you want me to continue trying to retrieve the droid?”

“No. She’s taken everything from me now. It’s better that I move on.”

“I see.”

“Some things are best left lost.”

“Understood.” But he wondered if he really did.

“Cattrell?”

“Yes?”

“My hat tips to you for solving the case.” Click.

Read from the beginning:
Part One | Part Two | Part Three | Part Four | Part Five | Part Six | Part Seven | Part Eight | Part Nine | Part Ten | Part Eleven | Part Twelve | Part Thirteen | Part Fourteen | Part Fifteen

Read the next chapter:
Part Seventeen

"The Girl and the Pendulum" is an 18-part future-noir science fiction story about a a private investigator's search for a missing android. How can a man who searches for missing women find lost artificial intelligence? I welcome feedback on this story about a man and his difficult case in a post-war, post collapse world. Stay tuned, as I also will begin publishing my 300,000 word epic novel "The Messiah" on Steemit in 2017.

Facebook page: (https://facebook.com/michaeladamparis/)
My Blog: (http://www.michaeladamparis.com)
Thank you all for your support and encouragement.

All images used with their respective creative commons licensing.
Image Credits: 422694 | taz123 | Unsplash | MaryW


Follow me @michaeladamparis

Sort:  

hi man, you have wasted your 2 SBD to randowhale because this post is too close to payout! :)

It was a test. I didn't want any comments on my latest post, and I will have to say the experiment was not satisfactory lol.

Good Job :)

Thank you! Nice work yourself!

Thank you for upvoting my photo. If you like that one you will love my other ones. https://steemit.com/@readallaboutit

I upvoted around ten of them! Very talented!

Wow thank you michaeladamparis thanks for your support. 👍😊 Glad you liked them.

Aw, I wish you would have let me know when you were posting these.

That was surprising, on to the next one.

Whoops! I definitely will let you know on the next one. It's more of a pscyho-drama!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61918.40
ETH 2900.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64