Forever. [a fantasy short story]

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

Story prompt image courtesy @azbeen






(story preview only)




This is an entry for @gmuxx's Art Prompt Writing Contest #9

Title photo by @negativer

Join us at The Writers Block on Discord.
A great community of writers there, helping each other get better at what they enjoy doing.

Sort:  

The Time Lord seems callous at first, but at the end you see a bit of a glimpse of sadness in him which gives him a bit more dimension. Maybe he acts callous because it's what he has to do, but he never actually relishes in it.

Good insight. He starts off flippant and casual, just doing his job, but he still feels.

Oh my! Well I love this, and it’s so beautifully written, and the characters are amazing, but @negativer, you have some ‘splaining to do! I saw where this was going and I almost couldn’t finish reading it. Wahhh! But it’s good. It’s so very very very good.

Thanks @jayna! I do appreciate you taking the time to read it :)

I know I kind of started the story down an obvious road pretty early, but I figured if I could keep it entertaining along the way, nobody would care too much. Thank you so much for your comments :)

Wow - you are very talented. The characters are well developed and most importantly the story evoked emotion. Great job!

Thanks for reading! A bit of emotion is really the best you can hope for, and if I achieved that, then all is well.

Wow, this is so crazy imaginative. This was a tough prompt for sure!
I lowkey thought it was going to be horror at the beginning, and I giggled.
Oh, and "Time Lord." Have you watched Doctor Who?

I've watched some Doctor Who, but I'm not a rabid fan. I just wanted to have a 'funny sounding name' that I could also apply to the cat. Since he's dealing with kids, (and the image prompt is silly) I could afford to make his name a little silly.

Thanks for reading!

Wow! I had mixed feelings about this. Maybe it was because I had just viewed the pencil drawing by mattphilleo of a Little Girl and Her Dogs. I saw her in my mind's eye as I devoured your story. In any case, I thought it was a great fantasy read. Great way to handle the challenge!

Thanks! I had to pop over and check out that image too...and now I can see her in my mind as well. :)

When my brother first showed me the subject matter for this contest, I thought, "what a difficult contest!" I had a similar idea about a child dreaming but you took it to a level that evoked emotion. I felt sadness but relief for Lily. It also made me feel young for a minute like I was 12 again. I like how we are reminded that life can be fickle sometimes. I got goosebumps near the end because I almost knew what was coming. I think you did a fantastic job with this one! Kudos.

Thanks much! It is a difficult image, since fantasy has no 'rules', and that image is definitely fantasy. Sometimes lack of rules is harder than having the photo give you some limits.

Are you going to start getting involved in some of these writing contests, perhaps? :)

Loved your interpretation. Vivid descriptions, has ending as always.

My protagonist is a young boy from Darrington, WA.. Submitting asap.

One od the saddest things there is, a childs death. It was both hard and beautiful to read this

wow.it's a great.. Thank you very much for sharing a great story with us.keep it up.eberyone must be like it.go ahead

Why thEy would not allow her MoM to stay with her? She could have atleast shoo the cat away 😥

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60695.64
ETH 2900.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.53