Diary of a Crypto Time Traveler #8 / Two Great Days

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

Jan 20th & 21st 2018 - Two Great Days

Flip over to the first entry to get a complete understanding of my situation. Links to others provided at the bottom.

diary.png

Hello diary,

Yes, you're right --I did abandon yesterday. And it wasn't like there wasn't anything to write about, it was my first day on the job.

However one wants to look at it, this weekend was great. On the side of the cryptocurrency market, all currencies had big increases following the bloodbath that happened 4 days ago, and that's cool. I even almost started thinking the correction was over, but then they all went down again today, though not as much as before. As long as they're mostly following the same trend, going red or green at the same time, the correction is on. The sign of the market correction's end will be seeing an almost 50-50% of the currencies in red and green for at least a day.

But check out Steem and SBD, the currencies of the Steem Blockchain! I was right in thinking this platform has an extremely bright future. Both currencies had a massive increase in value while others were still going down, and even now, while others have big dips, they have only little. SBD hit over $9 a few hours ago! I went through some predictions on Steem's value for the year. The least predicted a value of over $10. Another expected it to hit $30, and with what I've learnt of it's history, this is more likely. Another made an audacious claim that Steem would hit $60. Funny thing is, with it's history, that's not unlikely either. In the year 2017 (which is just last year from this perspective), Steem rose from $0.1 to $3. That's a massive 1,500% rise! And with the growing popularity of the Steem blockchain, it could definitely happen again. That means, Steem could rise up to a value of over $1,000. Hmm... now that's an audacious figure! But it would explain why I remembered the platform from the year 2089 when most other memories are gone.

The weekend was great for me personally as well. I'm fully set up in my new apartment now and I'm already getting the hang of the job. Old Sam is really cool, but I guess anyone who would've hired me as I was would have to be. I get the sense that persons come to his bookstore more for his personality than for the actual service. Most showed plenty interest in me, wanted to know where I was from and all that. I gave some vague answers and genuinely smiled a lot. That seemed to be enough for most persons, but I can't expect everyone to be Lindsay. As I get to know them better and better, some are going to get more persistent at their questions.

And speaking of Lindsay, she did come over to help me set up my apartment on Friday evening. I got her number too, so though I haven't seen her since, I talked to her today while I took a stroll around. This is such a quaint little town! Even with the college not too far away, it's still definitely small town territory. I think I will like it here.

I'm thinking less and less about my true year, my family and getting back, and it scares me a little. But just a little... things are going too well for anything to really weigh on me. Besides, if I succeed in rebuilding my time machine, I will arrive at the exact instant I left. I just hope I get it right this time.

I miss sitting with Lindsay. I'll jog down to her coffee shop in the morning before I have to open the store. Until then, I should probably get some rest.

Good night, diary.


Diary of a Crypto Time Traveler is a fictional story used to share real knowledge on cryptocurrencies, blockchains and predictions, and my own recent findings.

Read previous entries below:
#7 Jan 18th 2018 - Cryptocurrency Wallets, My First Payout... and a New Job!
#6 Jan 17th 2018 - The Thing With Lindsay
#5 Jan 16th 2018 - The BLOODBATH
#4 Jan 15th 2018 - Steemit for Newbies
#3 Jan 14th 2018 - Market Correction and an Expected Wall Street Boost


Upvote, Follow, Resteem

Follow me @peterogwara

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62699.43
ETH 2963.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61