Diary of a Crypto Time Traveller #10 / Eight Days Later, a new month, and a bearish market

in #fiction6 years ago

1st Feb 2018 - Eight Days Later... and a new month

Flip over to the first entry to get a complete understanding of my situation. Links to others provided at the bottom.

index2.jpg

Today, I woke depressed. It's not a great start to the new month, but when I realised the date and how long I've been here, I couldn't help the sinking feeling I had felt. That I still feel.

I haven't been on Steemit for eight days. Eight whole days! Considering this is a major part of my plan to get back to the year 2089 and my family, this is especially distressing. The truth is, I have begun to get used to my new life. The apartment and the bookstore, Old Sam, the other indigenes of the town, and Lindsay. Especially Lindsay.

What am I doing? Am I going crazy? Did the error during the time-travel affect my thinking and judgement as well as my memory?

I should be working super hard to raise up enough coins to store both for the future and to rebuild the machine, but since I started earning from the bookstore, I've relaxed on that. I haven't even started researching to find out if the materials I need are avialable in this era, and corresponding with other physicists for assistance, to esure the miscalculations I made are corrected and this incident doesn't repeat itself on my way back. Hell... I haven't even found a physician to check me out. What would happen if I forgot my past entirely? My kids would probably think I ran out on them. Maybe even commited suicide.

I did say I was depressed.

No matter. It's a new month, and I'm determined to get back on track. If I do everything right, I should be able to get back in a couple of months. From now henceforth, I will ensure I write in this diary everyday, if only to keep my sanity and remember who I really am.

I haven't been keeping track on the coin market either, but last night, Old Sam came in ranting that the entire cryptocurrency market had gone 'bearish'. I expected the market correction to have ended by now, but apparently, it's still on! Most coins have lost up 40% of their value from last November. Bitcoin --the core bitcoin-- has lost almost 50% and sunk back to 4 digitsearlier today. That's so strange --this isn't the end of digital currency, is it? Is the future I remember a sham? Am I in an alternate reality? Or maybe I really am just insane and imagining everything. Maybe I am delusional and should be institutionalised.

No. I shouldn't entertain thoughts like that. I know myself, even if I can't tell Lindsay or anyone else the truth. I can't afford to sink any lower, or I will lose it completely.

I think I need Lindsay. I'll go see her tonight.


Diary of a Crypto Time Traveler is a fictional story used to share real knowledge on cryptocurrencies, blockchains and predictions, and my own recent findings.

Read previous entries below:
#9 Jan 23rd - Transaction Fees
#8 Jan 20th & 21st - Two great days
#7 Jan 18th 2018 - Cryptocurrency Wallets, My First Payout... and a New Job!
#6 Jan 17th 2018 - The Thing With Lindsay
#5 Jan 16th 2018 - The BLOODBATH


Upvote, Comment, Resteem

Follow me @peterogwara

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63041.44
ETH 2985.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61