Diary of a Crypto Time Traveller #6 / The Thing With Lindsay

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

Jan 17th 2018 - The Thing With Lindsay

Flip over to the first entry to get a complete understanding of my situation. Links to others provided at the bottom.

diary.png

Hello diary,

I think I've made a real friend. Which puts me in a real dilemma. I never put meeting people into my time travel calculations, and even after I became stranded, I didn't imagine for once that I would make friends here. But how can it be true friendship when I can't be truthful about myself? And let's be frank, anyone I told the truth would immediately have me committed to an institution. I mean, time travel? Give me a break.

Two days ago I had a real talk with Lindsay at the coffee shop. She has always been nice and is in fact, the reason I no longer look or smell like a bum, and am getting to spend more and more time there. I don't even recall how it started --it was just 'hey' and 'good morning' at first, but before I realized it, she was sitting with me and sharing laughs. I found out a bit about her. Her full name is Lindsay Richardson. She's a biochemistry major (can you believe that?!) at the local university. And she's extremely trusting, even more so than I'd previously thought. She told me her address! Me, a bum who could just as likely be a serial killer or something! When I told her I was sleeping in a back alley, she offered to take me job hunting, find an employment that came with accommodation, and where they didn't ask too many questions.

But then she started asking questions about me and how I became this way. I remember her clearly saying: 'you don't seem like the kind of person who would end up on the street, you're too nice and responsible'. That kinda made me blush, but here was the danger. Truth is, I don't know what it is, but I don't want to lie to her. Ever. So I didn't. I told her I was a physicist and had a family (she was pretty surprised to hear that part), but they weren't around and had lost my job due to an accident. And I told her there were many things I couldn't tell her without being dishonest. To my absolute surprise, she accepted that and stopped asking. Maybe she assumed I must've been working for a secret arm of the FBI or something, because she just gave me a look and a smile and changed the topic. I told her about my family, about Emmet and Ursula and showed her their picture.

I received a huge shock here: I couldn't remember my wife. Not her name, not her face. I do recall she ran an online shop and I know I love her dearly, but everything else is gone. I was pretty shaken. Am I forgetting more and more about my life in 2089, or was this memory missing since I arrived in 2018? I really need to see a doctor, fast!

Lindsay and I will be going job hunting after her shift ends today. I'm a bit nervous to be spending more time with her, but I definitely can't do this on my own.

And there's one more thing. I haven't confirmed yet if, by traveling to the past, I could alter the future I know. If I can... then I have no idea the extent of damage I would have already caused. This is getting really serious.


Diary of a Crypto Time Traveler is a fictional story used to share real knowledge on cryptocurrencies, blockchains and predictions, and my own recent findings.

Read previous entries below:
#1 Jan 12th 2018 - Arrival
#2 Jan 13th 2018 - Forks
#3 Jan 14th 2018 - Market Correction and an Expected Wall Street Boost
#4 Jan 15th 2018 - Steemit for Newbies
#5 Jan 16th 2018 - The BLOODBATH


Upvote, Follow, Resteem

Follow me @peterogwara

Sort:  


Awesome work! I`ve re-steemed!
Must be supported...
Thank you for your wonderful work 😊😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61133.31
ETH 2887.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64