The Witch And Her Curse - Part 4 (Short Story)

in #fiction7 years ago

shutterstock_558614146.jpg

Read Part 1 Part 2 Part 3

She opened the door, and I rushed into her room, but surprisingly there was no cat. I asked, "Did you see any cat here?"

"No..No. I haven't seen any cat. Why? What happened?" She replied.

We were all tired, and I thought it was not a good time to ask her about anything. So I said, "Nothing to worry. Go. Sleep Now."

I told her not to worry, but I was very tensed. I was 200% sure that the cat was inside, but when she opened the door, there was no cat at all. I waited there for some time, thinking about that incident but at last, I decided to come back to my room and sleep as I was exhausted too

At the time when I was coming back, I looked to the Diya (A small cup-shaped oil lamp made of baked clay) of our pooja Ghar. I don't know why I looked there, but after looking, I was little scared. I already said that I don't believe in supernatural stuff, but many people say that extinguishing of a Diya is considered as ominous. So I immediately light that up again and went to sleep.

Next morning when I woke up my wife and that woman was having breakfast. After refreshing myself, I joined them. After breakfast, my wife and I went to our pooja Ghar for morning prayer. My wife again called that woman to join us, but she refused. This time we were a little worried about her behavior.

Then suddenly my asked that woman - "Why you don't want to join us? Any specific reason?

"No. I also want to join you, but I haven't bathed yet." - That woman replied.

After hearing her reason, we got some relief because her reason was a genuine one.

In the evening when all were sitting in the courtyard of our home, I asked that woman, "What your real name? You are with us, but we don't even know your name."

"My name is Malti," She replied.

"Malti, If I ask you something will you answer?" I asked.

"Yes. Sure, I will answer," Malti replied.

"When we saw you for the first time, people were saying that you are a witch. I believe you are not a witch. These are all misunderstanding and false belief, but there must be some reason for which they called you a witch. Will you tell us why they use to call you a witch?", I asked in a curious tone.

"Why are you disturbing her? She may feel uncomfortable about that stuff. Why are you talking about her past?", My wife replied.

"No.. No. It's Okay. Let me tell you from the beginning," Malti replied.

"I lived in a different village before. I was pleased there. I used to work in people's home. But it didn't last for long, one day a flood came out and took everything from that village. There was nothing to eat and wear. Many animals and humans died in that flood. In a few days, all the people of that village vanished. I lost my work. I had nothing to eat, so I had no choice except living that village. So I came to this village.

When I came to your village, I never thought I would face that type of people in my life. Everything was okay at the beginning but as you know nothing is permanent in this world. I searched for some work and somehow found work in a home. My work was to clean clothes, and they told me that they would give me good money. So I decided to work there.

In the first day, I went to their home to clean clothes. I asked them where the cleaning room was. After knowing that I went to clean the clothes. I was doing my work silently.

But suddenly heard a noise of people. So I went outside searching for the source. When I came outside I saw many people were there at the gate. I rushed to see what happened.

But whatever I saw was very surprising. The cow, my owner, was dead. It was surprising because the cow was looking absolutely fine. I was very sad after watching the cow. So I forwarded my hand towards the cow to rub his head.

The cow was very strong and good looking. But the moment I forwarded my hand the owner of the cow grabbed my hand and pushed me to the ground.

After that, the owner said that I am a witch and I killed their cow. He also said that I am a miserable girl and I was the only reason for which their cow died.

I tried very hard to make them understand that I didn't kill their cow. I also said that how can I kill a cow without even touching but they never listened. I tried very hard, but they kept saying that I am a witch. That was just the beginning. Many things happened after that." - Malti Replied in a very sad tone.


Find Out What happened to them in the next part...

Picture Taken From Shutterstock.com

Sort:  

Congratulations @rejakul! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61757.83
ETH 2905.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62