Sort:  

Thank you!

They're actually five minute (semi-)freewrites, not including a few minutes of editing and coming up with the photo. Sometimes I spend a little more time if I'm on a roll. @mariannewest and @freewritehouse come out with a one word prompt (sometimes a phrase) and I'll come up with a first sentence. From there I just start writing and see where things go. If a story materializes I'll post it to my blog; if not, I just post it as a comment on the @freewritehouse post. Today's prompt was "wet." All I had thought of when I started writing this was the newspaper thing and how that's a trope when it rains in old Hollywood movies and how I don't see how a newspaper makes for an effective umbrella hahaha. I only worked out that the job interview was for an MLM scam around the time that I wrote the sentence about the people coming out of the elevator. I just imagine the story as I'm going and describe what I see in my mind's eye. It's really fun!

Very cool .. thank you for your explanation and the insight on how you create your stories.

Thanks for taking an interest in it!

For what it's worth, I had never written fiction in my life (save for when I was a small child) until I got to Steemit and tried it out for the first time a couple months ago. I was convinced I would absolutely suck at it. The only reason I tried it out was that I randomly entered in on a @freewritehouse comment contest and won it and I felt terrible that I had won when I hadn't even once done a freewrite, so I thought I better contribute something to assuage my guilt. Now I love it. It's like zen time for me, and I'm getting better over time. You should try out joining in on @mariannewest's freewrites!

I may give it a shot at some point. Steemit has a way of bringing us here for one thing but then we stay for another. I think its awesome that you won a contest on your first attempt.

It does, doesn't it? Reading back on my #introduceyourself post, I thought that my contributions here would be totally different than they ended up being. I'm glad it took a turn and I ended up learning that my capabilities as a writer are less limited than I thought they were.

You're coming along like a noicely roising cake. I'm glad you decided to do some freewriting. It's a nice brain explosion, isn't it.

I'm glad @rentmoney asked you this because I was going to as well. I love how your mind works and the direction this took (although the poor narrator not so much).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64254.80
ETH 3145.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88