The Night Gods Chapter III: The Night Gods Of War

in #fiction7 years ago

11.jpg

War is the state of perpetual night. It is a triumph for the demons... the darkness that abides deep within men's souls. It has been the realm of the Night Gods since the beginning of time. It was they that directed Cain's hand as he slew his brother Abel. It was they, not Helen, that launched a thousand ships against Troy. They danced with glee at the Crucifixion of our Lord and revelled in the persecution of the Martyrs. So it has been and so it shall ever be.

When it became my time to go to war, I learned a very important truth... good people come home in flag-draped boxes. People who learn to embrace the darkness come home. I don't mean that the darkness becomes everything...only that while in combat it becomes a useful tool, something temporary. This, of course, is not the purview of the demons- they seek only to possess. In the darkness of my soul they would come to me, without making me aware of their presence. War, you see, is not about winning or losing- that realm belongs to politicians- it's about staying alive at any cost. I became the night and the night became me.

Young men become old, you can see it in their eyes... witnesses to the triumphs of the Night Gods. After seeing the things that no man should see, day after day, erodes the soul. Numbness sets in replacing empathy. Tragedy becomes commonplace. We all had, and many still have, the eyes of the dead. And the Night Gods rejoiced at our horror. You could almost see them in the night, dancing among the trees awaiting the next day's catch, like perverted fishermen adrift on a sea of gore and despair. Yes, you could almost see their black eyes glistening with delight in the fires of every burning corpse...the stench of burning flesh the perfume in their nostrils. How they fed on the despair.

There were queues of people from burned out villages along the roads, soot covered faces, streaked with tears over loved ones lost to the carnage. Their meager belongings on their backs, or carried on their heads. Babies and children, witnesses to bloated corpses lying in the roadside ditches. Babies seeing things no man should ever see. We drove by with faces of stone....like the demons themselves in this carnival of horror. There was something eerily surreal about it...as though it wasn't really there. It couldn't be, it was too terrifying, yet real it was. It was almost like a landscape from Hell.

The horror to which we returned was almost worse than the one from which we had just escaped. Nobody wanted us here at home...The land of the free and the home of the brave. It seemed like light would never penetrate the blackness that had come to pervade my soul. The Night Gods were pleased... they wanted me. I still had no idea, I'm not certain that I do now. All I wanted was to forget. To forget the horrors, the nightmare that had been my life for over two years. I was already dead, yet somehow still alive. Adrift in a reality that wasn't real. I got drunk.

Sort:  

Another beautiful chapter! Well written and with the right atmosphere inside. Scary! ^_^

Thank you Silvia! I seem to be getting all my feedback from you now so I really appreciate your help and support. My friends that usually read and comment seem to have deserted Steemit since the last hard fork.

Yes, I see we are few users at now, but I think in the next two weeks people will come back to steemit :D

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Apr 07. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $0.49 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 07 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I am impressed with your writing style because you made me cry and feel the atmosphere . the horror....

Wow, thanks... I always wanted to write a horror story and this is my first attempt. It seems like every storyline has been done to death (no pun intended) I tried to come up with something a little bit new.

Rich you have the experience because it seems you faced lots of those dark gods in your life. Going to war for your government....I just can't imagine but we have to be careful. They smell our weakness and vulnerability. That's when they take over our soul and there is no more good and evil . Only hell because our mind creates it.
Horror is not my chosen genre because it touches me too deeply. I am like a sponge and after reading all chapters I don't think I can sleep Hahhaa this means you are damn good

Really brilliant and vivid story line even though it was abit to easy to get rid of those demons.

Thank you for all of your kind words!!! If you remember the demons are older than time itself... They haven't gone anywhere, they just left the narrator because he's no more use to them in prison. They'll be back... I'm already playing with ideas for the sequel! I can only write one story at a time... I have to live all the parts to feel and see what all the characters do. I don't pretend to be a good writer, I just love to do it and by being all of the people in the story I can make it real (at least to me). It's also exhausting... The Night Gods will be back- sleep well!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68236.06
ETH 3737.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64