Incomplete (Fiction for the #365daysofwriting challenge)

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

photo-1533242883923-f60a02c02024.jpg

Life. They say it flashes before your eyes before you go. I’d always had a bad memory, perhaps the images weren’t there to retrieve? Or maybe I didn’t get close enough? Although, considering the seemingly endless amounts of salt water I’d coughed up since making it to shore, that seemed unlikely.

When I’d been asked in the past what three things I’d bring to a dessert island, soaked jeans, half a hipflask of cheap vodka, and a stick of apple mint flavoured gum weren’t high of the list. OK maybe the vodka, but who buys apple mint gum? Come to think of it, that question along with all the others that rattled around in my head, led to a more confusing one. How did I even get wherever here was?

At least the old making fire with dry wood was actually a thing. I was never sure if it was a myth or not. Took long enough to get it started, but it would still be glowing in the morning. I decided I should probably rest for the night.

“It is not finished.”

Fires didn’t normally speak. I must be half asleep.

A fierce, flaming tendril whipped out and struck my leg. Jumping to attention I immediately reached for my flask. The fire, now brighter than before with an abnormal pinkish hue at its heart, spoke again.

“It will not work here,” the flames stated in a matter of fact way.

After quickly downing what was left of what tasted like lighter fluid I realised what it meant. The normal tingle that followed such a generous swig of the strong stuff did not materialise. Frustrated, I shouted back at what I assumed was a hallucination.

“Where is here? What’s going on?”

“The end, but you have not yet finished,” the voice was softer this time. Then, in an instant, I almost became engulfed as the fire roared and spiralled unnaturally up into a terrifying, yet beautiful, inferno.

Everything went black.

I couldn't breathe, couldn't see properly, and it was freezing. I was back in the water. In a few conflicted moments of relief, panic, and utter bewilderment I thrashed my way to the surface and broke through, taking a huge breath of air as I surfaced. As my vision cleared and my embarrassingly flappy doggy paddle stabilized me I noticed a small boat coming towards me. The lone figure on board tossed me a line, and as I began to pull myself in slowly it called to me playfully.

“Come on! You’re half drowned and we’re not even there yet?!”

I had no idea who she was, nor what she was talking about.

But I had a feeling it was important.

imcomplete_break.png

Better late than never, I'm diving in on day 231 of @mydivathings' #365daysofwriting challenge.


Photo by Alex Iby on Unsplash

This is the first original story I've ever posted online (I wrote some Batman fanfic a while back). Hope you enjoy it. I'm sure there's an error or six, and any feedback is more than welcome. Whether it be positive, constructive or just plain brutal.

Sort:  

I missed this post when you originally posted, but would love to see you make the entry daily :)

This was the first original story I ever posted online, was super nervous. Your challenge makes it so much easier to just sit down and write.

Yeah we do the challenge to just have fun writing. You can write in any format : Super short or saga length :)

I'm working on some longer stuff. I'm finding writing short stories is helping me improve writing more than working on those though. I suppose little creative bursts mean nothing has time to go stale.

Congratulations @samuraihedgehog! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 69437.40
ETH 3765.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83