You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Coot Photoshoot : There Is No Such Thing As A Problem Child, There Is However - A Questionable Parenting

in #fiction6 years ago

I understand it is not always easy and that there are always exceptions and examples of kids who go in the wrong direction and end up in the gutter, no matter how much we try to prevent that.
Still I think in most cases it's questionable parenting.
During puberty kids get to know "wrong" friends. But even then, you as a parent should know your child good enough if he/she is, or could be "vulnerable" for the bad influences of those wrong friends.
Just an example: the first joint my son smoked was together with me at our house in my presence. Same for the first time he was drunk, at home. This way I knew what was the effect it had on him.

The problem nowadays is that lots of parents are too busy making a career etc and not taking enough time for their kids that they've put in this world and help/assist them to find the best way to prepare them for that moment to stand on their own feet one day.

Sort:  

oh am not used to you being serious :)
but thanks for sharing your opinion

I have always thought of parenting as a hard profession
so the older I got I decided to pass on that job
I'm not sure I won't be making mistakes and be doing a great job and I just don't dare want to try

I guess, every parent just also don't know what to do
why is there no school for parenting?
is it a valid excuse that every child is different?

thanks for sharing your shared moments with your son
my first cigarette puff was on my own - when my dad asked me to get one on top of the fridge and I've never smoked since then
it had a bad taste haha

still, I would have probably cherished it had my first beer/ getting drunk experience was also with my parents but cest la vie haha

Good luck with parenting, it seems to be a lifetime sport / profession imho ..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57628.63
ETH 2920.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68