Immortal

in #fiction6 years ago

When I was fourteen a stranger asked me what my greatest wish was. I told him I wanted to read all the books in the world.
He told me that it would take a very long time to read everything.
I said it didn't matter I wanted to read every book written and every book yet to be written.
For years I forgot about the stranger. I grew older, I got married, and I had children. Then people started commenting on how young I looked, next they started saying I never seemed to age, and then they tried to burn me at the stake.
Three days I stood surrounded by flames but not burning. When the flames finally died I stood before the people of my village unscathed. They bowed to me and worshiped me as a god.
That's when I found out I was immortal.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69718.72
ETH 3746.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81