Magicae Terra - Episode 1 - Part 10

in #fiction6 years ago

Chapter Seven.png

Chapter Ten

I looked down at my Chuck Taylor’s and then back up at him. I loved those shoes, but he was right. Hiking in them would have been killer; I went and put on my running shoes. Obviously I didn’t use them for their intended purpose; they were used when I was feeling too lazy to put on my Chucks. Yeah, I know, it’s a gift.

He headed for the door, then stopped when he realized I wasn’t following him. I had just thought of something, something I should have thought of before. If I could possibly die, and I was disappearing, what would my parents think? What about the rest of my family? I was close to them, so me just vanishing would be noticed. I know they would look for me, but that could end up bad for them. I looked at the man and then walked over to the hotel’s phone.

“What are you doing? We have to leave.”

“Yeah I know, I get it. Urgency is needed. If I’m going to disappear and start some new life, or maybe even die, I have to tell my parents something. That way they don’t go looking for me and get caught in some evil warlock plot.” I picked up the phone and called my mom’s cell; she answered after three rings.

“Hello?”

“Hey, Mom. It’s me, Amelia.”

“Amelia! How are you enjoying New York? Did you finally remember which class you shared with Laura?”

“No, I didn’t, but she doesn’t remember either. She thought I was someone else when I showed up.”

“Oh, well at least you got to visit New York. Are you going to go see a Broadway show? I think you should see that Wicked show—you love the Wizard of Oz.”

“I can’t.” I paused, then continued, “Mom, something’s happened. I can’t explain it but I have to… disappear for a little while.”

“Disappear? Are you okay? Amelia, what’s going on?”

“I’m fine, Mom, but I saw something I shouldn’t have.”

“Oh, my God.”

“I’m going into some kind of protective custody. I’m not sure if I’m going to be able to contact you again, but I just wanted to let you know that I’m okay and not to worry about me.”

“Amelia, what’s the word?”

“What?”

“The word! The word I told you to ask for if someone came to pick you up from daycare and it wasn’t me. What’s the safety word? This way I’ll know if you’re being forced, that there’s not a gun to your head.”

“Mom.”

“Amelia.”

“Snuffleupagus.”

“Oh, Amelia, my baby. Promise me you’ll be safe.”

“I promise, Momma. Tell everyone I love them.”

“I will. I love you, my baby girl.”

“I love you, too, Momma.”

I hung up the phone and hid my face so he wouldn’t see me cry. It took me a minute and then I turned back to him.

“Are you okay?”

“I’m fine. Let’s do this. Where are we going?”

“Hawaii.”

This was originally published in the book Magicae Terra Episode One. The full story is currently available on Amazon.
The image was created using canva.com

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by yn from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69746.86
ETH 3747.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80