Magicae Terra - Episode 1 - Part 8

in #fiction6 years ago

Chapter Seven.png

Chapter Eight

I was ready to get out of there. I didn’t know where this conversation was heading, but it didn’t look like I was going to win in the end. I stood up and tried to move around the two men, but they weren’t making it easy. Finally I let out an exasperated sigh and addressed them. “Listen gentlemen, I don’t know what’s going on here. I just came back because I didn’t want him to get in trouble and I wanted some answers about what was going on. I can see that the situation is complicated and I would just like to head back to my hotel now. So if you two will please just step aside, I’ll leave you to figure everything out.”

Surprisingly, they both moved aside and allowed me to leave. I wasn’t expecting that, but I rushed out and left the two of them behind, hoping that I would never see them again, and that included the previously italicized man. The showroom floor was just as chaotic as it had been when I’d made my escape, though now the two brides were sitting handcuffed on the floor beside their grooms. Both of the cops were breathing heavy and one had his hair sticking out all over the place, so evidently they had finally intervened.

I bypassed the police who were just arriving; I didn’t want to get stuck giving a statement.

Ma’am, did you see what happened?

Why yes, sir, Officer, I saw the whole thing. Six ghosts floated in and they stole everything, but it’s okay because I followed them to their haunted house and helped kill them with lightning that shot out of my fingers.

Oh, really? Well, ma’am, do you mind stepping over here, we have some very nice men in white coats that would like to help you.

Yeah, no; I wasn’t going to let that happen. I made it through the crowd of customers and police just as the news vans were pulling up. One of the reporters tried to flag me down but I dodged and moved past her. I made it back to my hotel with no problems and decided to take a shower to wash off the sweat from running after the previously italicized man. When I got out, he was standing by my bed, waiting for me.

When I say he, I mean he. I was naked with my hair wrapped in a towel and another towel wrapped around my body, and he was just standing there. The previously italicized man—I really needed to find out his name—was in my hotel room. I would have been more excited about it, but given the last conversation I’d heard him taking part in, I wasn’t sure if this was a good thing.

“What are you doing here? Wait a minute, how did you find me?”

He frowned at me and then turned away. “Magic. Now get dressed. Our plane leaves in an hour.”

This was originally published in the book Magicae Terra Episode One. The full story is currently available on Amazon.
The image was created using canva.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70135.32
ETH 3789.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77