TALES

in #fiction6 years ago

portal-graphics-20_1156848a.jpg

Image Source

January 8th, 1999

I wish mom and Dad would stop fighting so much. I wish I didn't wake up this night to witness this. Dad is calling mom a whore and mom is calling him a bastard. Mum is on the floor weeping like I do when whipped by Mrs Okadigbo. There is blood all over her face. I wish I was strong enough to protect Mom.

October 21st, 2007.

Dad comes home drunk again last night. He accuses mom of preparing poison for him. He starts kicking her around until I intervene. Dad slaps me several times and threatens to kill me. I call him names like the bastard he is. I hate the man my father is.

April 16th, 2035.

Onyinye is asleep. I don't know if I'll be able to look her in the eye. Earlier, we got into a heated argument where she cursed my mom. I lost my temper and slapped her. She just stared at me, her eyes piercing my soul. Have I become my dad?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61258.08
ETH 2873.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56