Emperor - Short Story ( Part 4 )

in #fiction5 years ago (edited)

Three days later, I was alone on a mountain road that led me to the South Forest and through it further into the Southern Province which represented the border of the former territory of the Empire. I was alone and riding my favorite horse. I was still amazed that they let me go alone without much debate. Although, on the other hand, when I told them the decision who will govern the Empire in my indefinitely long absence, they wanted to rely on everything. In the day after the death of my mentor, and the night after that, I spent thinking. To whom do I leave the power to rule? And then, just when I thought that there was no solution, and that I had to postpone my trip to the some point until I strengthened my position at the place of the ruler, the idea was in the midst. I left control in the hands of the Governor's Council, but they must work closely with my personal advisors. So I left them within the limits of the power that they were so cunningly struggling, but at the same time I provided myself with enough time to travel. For in these greedy hearts there are too many personal desires to be able to make any decision that will harm the Empire. For days they will remain quarreling around the simplest things, and they will forget about me. And, more importantly, they will forget that they do not want me on the throne.

With a smile on my face, I rode towards the forest. I was told that a large part of the territory where the forests were spread was still unexplored and that I could expect much. At first wild beasts, maybe some shamans of forgotten tribes. It did not worry me, I wandered Empire before and fell into trouble also. I was thinking about the Presences, and what Alar said to me. To consolidate the Presence, me? Even the notion of unification was never explained to me. What would that mean? How much Presences can be accomplished at all and how can it help me to rule better?

I found myself in a situation I just read in books. This is the situation in which you find the answer to one question that is bothering you, but hundreds of new questions that I have no answer have been announced concurrently. I tried to find at least an indication of the answer in my knowledge, which I gained through previous years, but it did not work out.

And then my thoughts turned to the other side. I have a brother. Well, that was news. In all those moments of my life when I thought that I was alone in the world and that I would be even lonelier with years, I got a gift. I wondered if our relationship would be identical to that my father had with his brother? I will make sure that our relationship is stronger, more comprehensive, and I will try to make decisions together. What's he like? Does he have the same knowledge that I have been taught? The same skills, same mind? Can he also divide his mind into as many Presences as I do?

There are too many questions that are troubling me and the answers waiting somewhere far away, far away in the monastery from where it all came to an end, for centuries. And that monks, where are they from? What is it that I have to learn from them and how long will I be absent? An endless series of questions ran without a response. I have to be patient and focus on crossing this territory. On the maps I brought with me, in my estimation, I had seven days riding up there. Some notes that I found in Alar's room said that the monastery was hidden in the depths of a forest covering the north-west side of the territory. This territory covered more than fifteen square miles and it would be very difficult to find a monastery. That meant a few more days of wandering after I reached this wild forest.

The trouble that awaits me is the disease. This is the primary reason why this territory has been abandoned and largely uninhabited for decades. The central part of the territory of our Southern Province was occupied by the swamp, and in it various types of insects that carried the infection. Nobody survived to testify about what kind of disease it was, we only knew that the infected were soothing in the greatest pains within the range of seven days after biting. I knew all this from my regular training, and did everything in my power to protect myself. My whole body was covered with poison. Risky, but one way that is considered reliable to stay healthy. It did not frighten me, as much as the thought of what awaits me can act terrifying, I was sure that I would be safe for the destination.

The Southern Forest welcomed me to its side with the end of the day. I did not intend to sleep here, I would try to ride through the night. As soon as I walked under the canopy of dense trees, everything was silent. As if the outside world does not exist, and that forest itself is a special universe. Everything was silent as if the forest was holding its breath.

At least five days to reach the destination. Five days to answer my questions.

Image 1

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97