Slavery - Short Story

in #fiction5 years ago (edited)

Centuries of slavery have done this from us. Wherever I look, there were bodies, not people, but the bodies of my people. That's what they got us down to be just a shell. I am born and raised in slavery and for the better I do not know. For years, stories have not been told and stories of our celebrated days have been forbidden. Despite this, my mother told me some things. We lived harmoniously in an advanced society, we had Rulers and magnificent cities both along the coast of the ocean and in the interior of the country. Our army was famous, magic was one of the most advanced in the whole universe, the Gods were pleased with us.

Now all this is behind us, only the remains of a cities walls or an old monument can be seen here and there. People who once were full of knowledge squeezed, rubbed and made them to be empty. I've always refused to believe that there is nothing better than this. These old stories did not happen so long ago in the past that we could just give up our lives just as easily.

My father defended our last stronghold, exactly where we are now. He defended it with his skill with the sword and all magic that he possessed, and that was not enough. No effort was enough. The Anturses crashed into our people and we could not beat them. Never before these attacks we did not know about them. In the first moments of the war we considered them an advanced race, they had mages capable of controlling large masses of people, weapons made of metal alloys that were never seen in our world.

Those cities and areas of the country they first captured, they put them into slavery immediately. They did not have domestic animals, we were both animals and manpower.

They seemed like us in appearance and knowledge, but the shades that separated us were clearly highlighted. They were several inches higher than us, their muscles were more capable of greater effort, and minds were dedicated only to the goal of enslavement. We are consumables for them and we will be. Our children will be born and die in dark mines, stables and fields. In my district alone, we bury more than ten people in charge of poisoning beverages weekly. These drinks were used instead of water by them, which was the biggest difference between us. It all seemed to me that their bodies were functioning completely differently than ours.

In recent weeks, it has become even worse, despite the fact that people have died of hard work, they have twice as many killed from pure malice. In the first days when these experiences began in my mind, the oppressed but not trapped mind, the idea began to grow. The idea that I might be able to change something with support. We had no contact with people from other areas and the news did not come to us. However, what we all had in our hearts is that the Nine Magicians, the best and the most sophisticated among us, are still somewhere in Hills near the North Waters. The idea was that somehow, at the cost of my life, I would try to reach over those Hills.

I would probably have been killed as soon as they notice the indication that any thought appeared in my brain, let alone planning an escape. The only advantage I had was their predictability. Always and everything had an established order. When a group works, what it does, when it eats and how much. I knew my schedule for months in advance.

The trouble was that I would not have all the skills that I would have learned that I was born in a normal world. I do not know how to hold a sword, fuck, I never saw him close up. About magic I do not even what to speak. I felt that in me, as each of us felt, but we did not know how to channel it, at least not anymore.

If I wanted to escape, I would have to know some basics, anything. All that would help me escape in a few hours, all the complex spells were too complex to even try. Even the fact that I am so helpless is not the biggest problem. What can convict me of suspension is finding an ally. In the last days even a conversation with someone can bring you a death sentence.

Perhaps, in the following months, I must carry out secretly by digesting my magic safely to the surface and using it. Maybe I can do it alone, but nothing else.

I heard the whip before I felt a sharp blow on my back. There was no pain, it has not been for years.

I have to succeed.

Image 1

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93