A Window to the Future (Numb, Part 7)

in #fiction6 years ago

Picture

Read Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, Part 5, Part 6

Punishment. A concept previously only known to me in theory. Why punish anyone if they stick to the rules? When people don’t have emotions to give in to, there is no need to punish them. Jails haven’t existed for decades now. But I can imagine that they’ve been very similar to the cold, wet cellar I’m locked into.

Lucifer had dragged me back to the apartment building. All my screaming and lashing out at him didn’t have any effect. I was no match for him. And now I’ve been in this dark place for at least two days. Nobody has visited me or even brought me food. The pain I’m feeling in my stomach is unlike anything I’ve ever experienced. @suesa

I just want to die.

”Persephone?” It’s Eir’s voice, muffled through the wooden door. ”Are you okay?”

”Eir?”

”Yes. Lucifer sent me to take you upstairs again. He said you should have learned your lesson now.” She pauses. ”Did you?”

What lesson is that supposed to be? That resistance will be met with violence? That he has all the power and I have none? That my life is worthless? That I better act like I’m a devout member of this rebellion?

”Yes, I did learn my lesson”, I reply. Keys jingle and the door opens. Eir is way too tall for this doorframe.

”Come.” She offers me her hand. ”Let me get you some food. You look awful.”

I take her offer and together we walk upstairs to her apartment. Not Lucifer’s. The way they always move me back and forth between each other feels like it’s intentionally confusing. One moment, Lucifer is the nice one. Then it’s Eir. Then Lucifer again. As if they’re trying to break me.

Eir sits me down on a chair and starts making food. I don’t pay much attention to what exactly she’s doing, it doesn’t matter. Instead, I stare out of the window.

In contrary to Lucifer’s apartment, this one is located on a lower level. Two, maybe three meters to the ground. I can easily see the street. The lack of people is obvious now, I wonder why I hadn’t noticed it before. The total absence of pedestrians, of cars, of any signs of life should have warned me that something is off. I guess my own emotions had made me blind.

Eir places a plate in front of me. There’s an omelet on it. For some reason, the smell makes me nauseous. But I’m starved, I need to eat, I know that. So I grab my fork and shove the yellow mass into my mouth. Yuck.

Chew. Swallow. New forkful.

”Good girl”, Eir says with a smile. ”Now, why don’t you tell me why you feel so unhappy here?” I stop chewing. Can she not just let me eat in silence?

”I miss my life”, I answer as vaguely as possible.

”But why? How was that life better than what you have now?”

I shove another piece of omelet into my mouth and stare at my plate, refusing to carry on with this conversation. Eir sighs.

”You’re a stubborn one, you know? Haven’t had one like you in a while.”

”How do the others react then?” I ask. ”I haven’t seen anyone but you and Lucifer. He told me there are more, but I haven’t met them yet. Are you hiding them from me? Do they even exist?”

”Of course they do exist! They’re just not home at the moment. They’re doing their jobs in the city.”

”What kind of jobs?”

”Monitoring possible new members. Not everyone is a suitable target for the awakening. Not everyone survives the emotional reactivation. We need to observe every potential newcomer to observe unnecessary deaths.”

”And how often do people die anyway?”

”Not that often. Not anymore at least.”

”And those who do survive, are they happy that you chose them without asking for their consent?”

Eir rolls her eyes.

”Not everyone is as difficult as you are. In fact, most are thankful to have a chance to a better life.”

”And those who aren’t? What do you do with them?”

”I thought you had learned your lesson. Your questions don’t sound like it.” Eir looks angry. ”Maybe you need some more days in the cellar.” She reaches for my plate and takes it away from me. ”I guess I have to call Lucifer and tell him you need more time to think about how lucky you are.”

I don’t want to go back into that cellar. I don’t want to be brainwashed till I break.

My eyes dart over to the window. 2 or 3 meters. That’s survivable, but unlikely, especially when there’s solid asphalt awaiting me at the end of the fall. But if I’m unlucky, I will only eliminate every chance of escaping.

The alternative is doing nothing and letting them shape me as they want.

That’s unacceptable.

I wait until Eir is a few steps away from me to throw the omelet into the trash, then I jump up and dash towards the window.

”What the hell are you doing?” Eir calls out, but I’ve already opened it. Cold air floods the room and I hesitate for a moment.

”Come back from that window!” Steps behind me. Eir is coming to grab me. Now or never.

I jump.


Picture taken from pixabay.com


Got a scientific topic which you want to see as a story? Leave me a comment!
You want to support scientists on Steemit? You are a scientist on Steemit? Join the #steemSTEM channel on steemit.chat and connect with us!
STEM is an acronym for Science, Technology, Engineering and Math

SteemStem

Monster GIF was made for me by @saywha and @atopy

Sort:  

You really are good at cliffhangers! I find myself holding my breath towards the end of each chapter! I feel despair for the poor woman, she literally has no options right now.. I think off grid homesteading may be the only answer lol

Hey, no spoilers! :P

hehe xD Every day I read a new chapter, I convince myself of a different ending! I can't wait to find out what happens!

Can't believe I missed this all the while....
Going to the next chapter now...
Nice story...

when I've seen the photo I tought that I'll see any new concept for windows :-)) but was something else more special . very well!

This is beautiful, i love your pinch of humor. You took story telling to the next level and nice plot too

Your writingstyle is awesome! I really can understand how the woman feels besides that I am happy to have feelings ^^

good post, it's real .

very beutifull picture. thanks

Thanks, it's a stock photo and not even the point of this post.

photo in the post))

Awesome .... you are always so good And different with your style

Your post is very good but the pic of window is outstanding

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70463.21
ETH 3549.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.87