Persephone (Numb, Part 5)

in #fiction6 years ago

Picture

Read Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4

”I think it’s time for you to choose a name”, Lucifer says. We’re sitting in his apartment at the table and having breakfast. After my nightmares had become less, I had moved in with him because Eir needed more room to herself. That’s what she said at least, I’m not sure if that’s truly the reason. There has been a noticeable distance between us, like a wall of ice. She seems disappointed in me.

”What do you mean, why do I need to choose a name? Can’t I just keep mine?” I ask. Lucifer shakes his head.

”It’s a statement we make. We distance ourselves from what’s expected of us by choosing our own fate. If you want to stay with us, you need to follow our rules.”

Who says I want to stay with you? I frown. I know that Lucifer can’t read my thoughts and I’m glad about it. The question would just lead to new problems. But he seems to ignore that I was never asked if I want to join, if I want to go through their “awakening”. He seems to assume that I’m grateful they’ve saved me and doesn’t even think of the possibility that I don’t like this new life, these new emotions. @suesa

”So?” He gives me an expectant look. I sigh.

”I have no idea what name I should choose”, I say. ”Are there any rules?”

”I thought you already guessed the rules. Look at me and Eir, anything that seems weird to you?”

I roll my eyes.

”So you’re naming yourselves after gods and similar?”

”Exactly!”

”That sounds like something a child might do.”

”How do you know that?” Lucifer asks. ”Children aren’t doing much these days.”

He’s right. Why do I associate something like that with children? One more thing to add to my list of stuff that’s weird. There are already some worrying items on that list, things I only noticed after a while. Why do I curse? It’s not like I’ve been exposed to it at any point in my life. Even educational books have been censored to avoid this kind of emotional contamination. And now this? Something weird is going on.

”I don’t know”, I mumble and try to not look him in the eyes. I don’t feel safe around him and it’s getting worse every day. ”What name should I choose then?” I ask.

”Anything you’d like. But it should fit you. Like Eir choose a goddess of healing and I chose Lucifer as the bringer of light.”

”It sounds a bit pompous, doesn’t it?” I wish I hadn’t said that. He looks pissed now. I bite my lip. ”Sorry. I didn’t mean that. Let me think of a name.” I did mean it. But his expression softened when I apologized so the lie is justified. I pick up my piece of bread and continue eating.

A name. That’s tricky. I don’t know much about mythology, we weren’t thought much about it back in school. A relict from days long gone, unnecessary in a society based on logic. I wonder how the others chose their names? I wonder how many others there are. Does every single one of them have a unique name?

I finally remember something from history class. We had discussed the downfall of Greek and Roman culture which had been followed by the dark ages. The Greek gods had been discussed briefly, including a certain tale. The tale about Persephone, who had been abducted by the ruler of the underworld and forced to stay there because she had eaten the seeds of a pomegranate.

Isn’t my situation similar?

In my case, the seeds are the injection Lucifer had given me, it forced me away from the life I knew and into the underworld, where I was now forced to live together with the king of hell. Unlike Persephone, I don’t know when I’ll be able to return, or even if it will be possible at one point in the future. But I hope it will be the case.

”I think I got something”, I say and Lucifer grins.

”Yes? What name is it?”

”Persephone.”

”The queen of the underworld? Ambitious!” His grin suddenly turns disgusting. Does he take my choice of name as an invitation? Oh, please no!

”I just like the sound of it”, I say, trying to defuse the situation. ”I don’t know many goddesses and she was one of the first that came to mind.”

It doesn’t dampen his mood much but at least enough that I’m not feeling immediately threatened anymore.

I swallow the last bits of my bread and stand up.

”I need to go outside for a bit”, I say.

”I thought we talked about that”, Lucifer sighs. ”You can’t go outside, it is not safe.”

”It’s been almost a month! I don’t think they’ll still be looking for me. They probably think I’m dead! Please, I just can’t stand being locked in anymore.”

He seems to think about it. Then he slowly nods.

”You got one hour. One. Can you promise me to be back in one hour?”

”Yes! Yes, of course.”

I’m up from my chair and out the door as fast as possible so he can’t change his mind again. The first breath of fresh air fills my lungs and I start shaking. Finally.

I look back to the house to make sure nobody is following me. And then, I run.


Picture taken from pixabay.com


Got a scientific topic which you want to see as a story? Leave me a comment!
You want to support scientists on Steemit? You are a scientist on Steemit? Join the #steemSTEM channel on steemit.chat and connect with us!
STEM is an acronym for Science, Technology, Engineering and Math

SteemStem

Monster GIF was made for me by @saywha and @atopy

Sort:  

..Gosh, nowhere to run though? lets see.

OMG! I am running with her now! Go, Go, GO! Not quite sure where she can run to, the authorities don't seem much help and the hospitals want to euthanize her! There has to be a good guy somewhere...doesn't there?

Awesome name queen of the underworld! My thinking is your emotions are currently running wild or why else would you run from seemingly kind souls? Yes? :D

But not everyone who claims to do the right thing is a nice person 😜

Lol.

You win :D

Persephone was much more than just the queen of the underworld. For the 5 months she was in the underworld, winter held dominion over the world. For the seven months she was free of the underworld, the earth was reborn, crops grew, the fragrance of summer lilacs filled the air, and finally fall gave way back to winter, when she once again became the queen of the underworld.
Mythology is seldom just the titles.
Hades was more than just the god of underworld. He was the god of the dead (Sort of like Anubis,) and in his domain, the dead waited rebirth.

Yes, she was. And she always holds a special place in my heart.

Oh my, what ever could go wrong with this. Except the betrayal of your closest ones who do not feel anything for you and will see you as a threat. DANGER, DANGER!

super. followed you

Bountiful post will dony

very impressive post,i like your narrative style.keep going.

I absolutely love the name Persephone, her myth has always fascinated me.

Love the story, I think I may just have to go back and catch the other other parts. I hope my writing one day reaches your level :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63373.75
ETH 3170.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88