Baby Blue - Part 9

in #fiction6 years ago

()
Part 1|Part 2|Part 3|Part 4|Part 5|Part 6|Part 7|Part 8

"You have an amazing life, to hear you tell it," the doctor says, once again looking over his notes. If he can't recall my story, how does he remember normal people's?

"It's all true," I reply, stretching out on the couch. Truth is, I'm getting a little tired of trying to please my "masters," for lack of a better word.

The doc looks at me over his wire-rimmed readers. "And you don't think any of this is 'unusual?'

"For me, no. For normals, of course."

"Ah, so you don't think you're like everyone else. You're special."

"So I've been told." I flash him by best grin. He just sighs and waves his hand as a way of telling me to continue my story.

OOO

The next morning, after Sophie leaves, I drive to Dad’s. He and my sister are just finishing up breakfast.

“Hi, Blue, give us a hug,” says Sis, running over and enveloping me in a strong bear hug. I try not to wince. Sophie worked me over fairly well last night and I’m still feeling it.

“So what’s my crazy boy gotten himself into this time?” Dad asks, grinning like a Cheshire cat. I freeze. Does he know the extent of my lunacy? But then he laughs. Apparently not.

“Well, Dad,” I say, sitting down and grabbing a donut, “I could actually use some help with something.”

Suddenly, he’s Mr. Serious and motions for me to have a seat at the table. Pink pours me a cup of coffee, which I gratefully guzzle as I tell the tale, only omitting the more sordid bits about Sophie.

“How in the hell could you agree to do anything for Alexander?” Dad asks. “He’s one bad mother-wizard, if you know what I mean. And who’s this Alex person?”

“Try to keep up, Dad. She’s his daughter. That’s why he wants her. I got her calmed down last night and asked her to trust me. She has no reason to, though, after what I did. Dad, I’m in deep and I don’t know how to right this one.”

Aubrey sits quietly as I tell the story. I can’t tell if she’s angry about my betrayal of Alex or pities me for being such an idiot. Either way, guilty as charged. Dad closes his eyes and, for a moment, I fear he’s drifted off.

Then, he perks up and says, “We need to get Kaz and Mo involved. I hate to do it, for your sake, because the news will get back to Josh and Lee, but they’re far better at situations that require a sensitive approach.”

“So, what’s the plan then? Storming the castle? Air raid? SWAT team?” I ask, only half joking. I’ve heard the stories. Okay, I eavesdropped while the parental units were trading stories, but still.

“Nothing like that,” Dad says. “This will take nuance, sensitivity and diplomacy.”

“None of those are exactly your strong points,” I offer.

“I know. That’s why I’m calling in Kaz and Mo.”

He pulls his cell out and, after giving them the highpoints, there seems to be some yelling on the other end of the line. Dad rolls his eyes and ends the call. “They’ll be here tonight. In the meantime, go along with them, Blue. Don’t act suspicious or anything. Can you do that?”

“Of course I can, Dad. I’m an actor.”

He laughs. Why does he laugh? Sometimes I really don’t get him.

I sort of left out the part about Alexander promising me a talisman, too. Just didn’t want to go down that road. Noticing the time, I figure I’d best return to the castle.

No one is around, so I bound up the stairs and stop just outside Alex’s door. I take a deep breath to calm myself before knocking. Alexander opens it. His daughter, thank goodness, is still untied. She’s sitting on the bed, a TV tray on her lap containing cereal and juice.

Smiling, I say, “Hey, Alex. How’s room service treating you?

She flashes a forced smile and says, “Great.”

“Could I have a word?” Alexander asks, leading me into the hallway and shutting the door behind us. “She’s much better now, thanks to whatever you told her. I owe you this.” He reaches into his pocket and pulls out a strangely undulating stone on a black cord. “Here’s your amulet.”

I gently take the stone, which appears alive, into my hands. It’s warm to the touch, perhaps because it’s been in his pocket – at least I hope that’s the reason. I place the cord around my neck.

“Looks good on you,” he says. “This stone is tailored to you and you alone. It will not work for anyone else.”

Smiling, I say, “Thank you. Do you wish me to continue helping with Alex?”

He ponders this for a moment. “She seems to like you. If you could keep her company for awhile, I think she’d like that.”

“Be glad to,” I say, walking back into the room. I sit on the edge of the bed beside her. Suddenly she hugs me and I hug her back. “It’s okay,” I whisper in her ear. “Things are in motion. Hang in there.”

“I’m scared,” she whispers back. “But my mom is probably scared as well. Can you let her know I’m okay?”

Not sure just how to do that, but I nod. Letting go, she picks up and begins to nibble a cookie, all the while giving me the once-over. “So, how old are you, really?”

“Twenty,” I start to lie, but reconsider. If I want to make changes for the better, I’ve got to start now. “No, actually I’m only seventeen.”

She cocks her head to the side. “How can you be confused about that?”

“It’s complicated. Have they let you out of this room at all?”

She shakes her head no. I look around and notice a portable toilet in the corner. Geesh. Her whole world is this room. My gut hurts. I gotta get her outta here.

Alexander and Sophie are deep in conversation, seated in a couple of antique wing-backs. I feel as though I’m about to petition the king and queen of England or more apropos, Transylvania.

“Excuse me,” I say, calling their attention to me. “Alex says she hasn’t been out of her room since she got here. Why don’t you let me take her for a drive?”

Alexander smiles. A chill runs down my spine. “That’s an excellent idea! Just don’t try anything stupid like helping her to escape or I’ll know. Don’t be too long.”

I didn’t ask how he’d know, but I certainly don’t doubt that he would. Sticking my head back inside, I say, with a smile, “Hey, Alex, your father is letting me take you out for awhile. How about we go get a soda or something. Would you like that?”

She smiles and nods. We leave the room hand in hand. “Wave,” I whisper to her. She turns and gives a little wave to Alexander who waves back, still smiling that creepy grin of his.

Once in the car, she relaxes a little. “This is such a cool car,” she says. “Did your Dad really give you this?”

I nod. “Yeah, he gave it to me for my sixteenth birthday. Actually, this one is the replacement. I drove the other one off a cliff.” Seeing the terror in her eyes, I mentally kick myself for saying that. “It wasn’t my fault. I’m a really good driver. Seriously.” I’d better change subjects before she leaps out into traffic. “I’m taking you to see my dad and sister. They’ll help with letting your mom know the situation, okay?”

She nods and bites her lower lip. So adorable.

Pink turns as we walk in the door. “Who’s this pretty young lady?” Pink asks, smiling as she comes over to greet us.

“This is Alex. Alex, this is my sister, Aubrey.”

“Call me Pink,” she says. “Here comes my hubby. Dimmy, this is Alex.”

He breaks into a full grin. “Alex, so nice to meet you. Blue has told me so many nice things about you.”

She looks surprised. “He has?” She glances up at me. I just smile.

Then Dad turns serious. “No offense, but why is she here?”

“I’m taking her for a drive. She wants to let her mother know she’s okay. You can do that somehow, can’t you?”

Dad nods and smiles at Alex. “Sure, kid. I can do that for you. Write her phone number down and I’ll take care of it. We’re working on a rescue, by the way. Just be patient. He isn’t hurting you, is he?”

Alex shakes her head. “No. He’s been really nice to me, considering I’m his prisoner.”

“Well,” says Dad. “You’re his daughter. Of course he’ll be nice to you.” Then he pulls something out of his pocket.

“What’s that, Dad?”

“It’s a homing device, so we know where she is if they get suspicious and try to move her. It’s adhesive. Where do you want to put it?”

Alex shrugs. “I guess they won’t look in my bra.” She puts her hand out and takes the small metallic device from Dad and places it under her left breast. Although, it’s probably too late to be embarrassed about anything at this point, I am, and look away.

The small object seems to reassure Alex. She smiles. Glancing at my phone I say, “We’d best get back before Alexander becomes suspicious. Thanks Dad.”

She says, “Thank you, Mr. …. I’m sorry, I don’t know your last name.”

“Nurev,” replies Dad. “But you can call me Dimmy.”

On approach to her gloomy prison, I say, “I hate to take you back there.”

“It’s okay, Blue. I’ll survive. As long as I know you’re going to rescue me.”

“I will. I promise.”

She runs up the stairs ahead of me and back into her room. I go in with her. No one seems to be around at the moment.

“You’ll be okay, right?” I ask, still hating that I have to return her to this place.

She nods and then she throws her arms around me and pulls me in for a kiss. I try to pull her off, but she’s strong for a skinny teenager.

“Um, Alex,” I say, when I finally get her extracted. “We can’t … do that. I’m pretty sure your father wouldn’t like it.”

“Did you?” she asks, grinning at me. Okay, she’s an old fourteen, then.

I can feel myself blushing. “I have to go, Alex. I’ll see you later.”

I walk out the door and almost run headlong into Sophie.

“Hi there, big boy,” she says. “Why don’t you and I go have playtime.”

Every fiber in my being wants to wipe that smug look off her face. But I smile and say “That sounds like fun.”

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62726.22
ETH 2961.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60