Twins (Original Short Story)

in #fiction6 years ago

twins-1896106_1280.jpg

To every rule, they say there is an exception, but to say this is an exception will be to understate the weight of her unique difference.

Beauty is supposed to lie in the eyes of the beholder, at least that is what we were told, and maybe almost too frequently pushed to believe, but there was this thing about Janet's beauty - it couldn't be denied by anyone, in fact, should a blind man sit or walk close by her, his soul will admit it is in the presence of an overwhelming beauty.

Try as I have to convince her to allow me visit her at home since we met at that library some weeks ago, she always had one reason or the other why I couldn't come.

But, now I'm wondering why this was never one of her reasons. I had received a call from her early this morning, telling me she'll be available in the afternoon around 2 pm.

I was so glad that I began preparing immediately. I arrived much earlier, 2 hours earlier if you fancy precision, both as a surprise and a result of my uncontrollable urge to be with her again.

I suppose my plan worked, for her face lit up as she welcomed me at the door and gave me such an embrace much tighter than those we've always shared.

As usual, I went ahead to explain how interesting the new novel I found is, and surprisingly she had just read it, I was so glad she was beginning to find interest in my genre of novels.

And like an unanchored ship, we drifted into different zones of comfort, until we found ourselves supposedly banking at the isle of kissing.

No sooner had the kiss started did the front door open, and there she was at the door, standing with her hands filled with groceries and her mouth as wide as her jaws could permit.

She looked on as I broke away from kissing her. Both the person standing at the door and the one beside me looked exactly the same, except for their clothing, never in my life, had I felt that much confusion, but as I saw the face at the door gradually shift from confusion to disappointment and finally rest at anger, and the face right beside me beaming with smugness, the fog began clearing.

But when the first words came from the door, almost as vicious as the bark of a wounded attack dog, my thoughts became as clear as daylight.

“Judith, how dare you kiss my boyfriend”

Right there and then, I wished I had waited until the time I was told.

Image source: Pixabay

Sort:  

Congratulations @tormiwah! You have received a personal award!

SteemitBoard World Cup Contest
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I like the laconic writing. I wasn't sure of what to see at the end but I was surely impressed.

Well done sir!

Congratulations @tormiwah! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @tormiwah! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @tormiwah! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 1000 comments. Your next target is to reach 1500 comments.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!
Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @tormiwah! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 300 replies. Your next target is to reach 400 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @tormiwah! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 11000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 12000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I have to admit, I have always asked myself if this has actually happened in real life. They always say you can kind of see the difference between twins but I wonder... maybe sometimes you cant ! :)


@tormiwah, sorry to see you have less Steem Power.
Your level lowered and you are now a Red Fish!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @tormiwah! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61674.06
ETH 3067.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81