Just This Night Only This Night || A Fiction Story of the One that Got Away

in #fiction6 years ago

My Post(20).jpg

It is a project that @ellebravo and I have discussed in the past. Wherein we will create a short story and we will be doing some voice overs. She is aiming to become a voice actress someday and I just want to create some scripts and stories for her before. Though now I am more into spoken word stuff. I am really inlove with the idea behind it and that is why we created this one.


JUST THIS NIGHT ONLY THIS NIGHT

WRITTEN BY: @TPKIDKAI
PERFORMED BY @TPKIDKAI AND @ELLEBRAVO

ENGLISH SPOKEN WORD # 3

Reunions are definitely a good time to reminisce about old memories. Memories that have been forgotten over time. All folks from my high school attended that event and I was really glad. Until I saw her again, she is still a stunner! After saying her hi's and hello's to everyone around she immediately left the place and went to the seashore.

SFX: SOUND OF WAVES FROM THE SEA.

There, I found her smoking on her own sitting while listening to some songs that I don’t even know.

LANCE
Hey! So you are just here. What happened? I asked.

MS. PADILLA
I just got bored that’s all. She responded.

LANCE
May I sit beside you?

MS. PADILLA
You are already doing that.

We were quiet for a while, no one's talking or maybe because we didn't have anything to say to each other. She plugged in again her headphones on her ear and I listened to the sound of the sea breeze.

LANCE
So, how are you?

MS. PADILLA
Okay, you?

LANCE
I am okay as well.

MS. PADILLA
K.

There, we had another moment of silence. It seemed like that was all I could say to her that time until she asked.

MS. PADILLA
So why are you here?

LANCE
Same as you are! I got bored, change of scenery and feel the cool breeze here by the beach.

MS. PADILLA
Its really boring right? You are not a good host, you left your event.

LANCE
Whoa! Looks who’s talking you just arrived and left the scene immediately but yeah getting me as the host of the event is a really bad idea.

( ALL WILL BE SILENT FOR A WHILE)

LANCE
Finally.

MS. PADILLA
Finally what?

LANCE
Finally, we are talking and having a conversation.

MS. PADILLA
We are already conversing up until now. what are you talking about?

LANCE
This…

And then we had another moment of silence.... again

(the sound of sea breeze)

BOTH CHARACTERS
Let’s go swimming!

Both us said that in synchrony as if there was a Eureka moment that time. I removed my sando shirt and held her hands and asked.

LANCE
Shall we go?

We played in the sea as if we were kids. I splashed water unto her and she immediately sent her revenge. A big splash of water hit my face. I was hurt but it was fun. Both of us got tired playing. And then we sat down again on the seashore.

We were still silent. Even though we were laughing earlier, no words or phrases were exchanged.

LANCE
So how are you I asked?

MS. PADILLA
I think you already asked that earlier. Being the smartest guy in the class, it seems like your memory is kinda rusty. Now she responded.

LANCE
I know that I asked that question earlier but… I want to know more about how are you. Like, what are up to right now? Sometimes when a person says I am okay, deep inside they are not.

MS. PADILLA
Okay, here we go with the Psychology Major guy analyzing everything and all.

LANCE
It’s okay if you don’t want to answer that. I am sorry.

MS. PADILLA
No need to say sorry it’s just that… I don’t know how to answer your question aside from responding that I am okay.

LANCE
Understand. So, I’ll just start then, after that you can follow my lead… cool?

MS. PADILLA
Cool.

LANCE
I just finished my Masters this year. Currently working in a clinic nearby, stressed on my day to day job but happy. You?

MS. PADILLA
Still working on the same University for more than 10 years I guess. Applied for a higher position but due to inside politics, I am unable to get that post or maybe because I am really incompetent. I don’t know! Stressed yes! Happy, somehow I think so.

LANCE
But teaching is your passion right. I can recall how you were shining in front of us before.
(Lance will look into the eyes of Ms. Padilla as he uttered the words) That’s how I fell in love with you.

Ms. Padilla will not look into the eyes of Lance and moved farther away from him

MS. PADILLA
Yeah, teaching is my passion. But real talk, it cannot feed my hungry stomach nor help me pursue my dreams.

LANCE
Am I included on those dreams before?

MS. PADILLA
Yes

She answered in her voice that’s as cold as ice.

LANCE
So why did you leave me? If… if I was included in your dreams why all of a sudden I found myself alone? I didn’t even get the chance to know what’s the real score between us back then. You even blocked me on Facebook and didn't even bother to answer my calls!

MS. PADILLA
Because that was the right thing to do!

That’s the first time I saw her burst out.

MS. PADILLA
Imagine, if we pursued that relationship, your scholarship will be revoked.
The school will be in shame because of a teacher and a student relationship.
My parents are not in favor of you and so your parents.
Everything is not right from the start.

I was in awe, she sacrificed so much for my sake. I had no words to say, all the questions that I had been keeping for the past years were all answered in one night.

LANCE
Thank you and I am sorry because I didn't know.

Lance will move closer to Ms. Padilla and will be holding her hand, this time as he gaze unto the eyes of the woman. There's no coldness on it anymore

LANCE
Given the chance, since now that I am not your student and you are not my teacher anymore, do you think we can make it right this time?

She nodded happily and I hugged her. We danced the whole night with the sounds coming from her mobile phone. her favorite song Born For You by David Pomeranz and we succumb in that world called ours.

Morning was then approaching and we needed to go back to the cottage. We were holding each other's hands until we reached the venue. Until Aubrey approached me. She leaned to kiss me on my cheek saying...

AUBREY
Good morning love, where have you been?

I told her that I was on the seashore writing some stories. She knows that I do love the sea and if I am writing stuff I tend to be away from this world and become a part of that world. In an alternate reality wherein I can control everything.

AUBREY
Hi! Ms. Padilla, how are you? Did Lance invited you to our upcoming wedding next week?

Ms. Padilla was still shocked and disappointed on the revelation but she remained calm and professional

MS. PADILLA
No, he has not but I guess, I can’t go there. You know too busy with school. Classes will start next week a lot of preparation is needed.

AUBREY
I see! That’s kinda sad you are our favorite teacher back then I do want you to be one of the bridesmaids though but I totally understand that.

MS. PADILLA
It’s time for me to go, Lance and Aubrey, need to be early tomorrow because it’s the first day of class she sounded cheerfully but I do feel that she is hurting. And best wishes to both of you may you be Faithful to each other.

She left and I was with Aubrey still staring on her back as she fades away from the scenery. Maybe if she didn’t give up on me or maybe if I was able to have those answers earlier before I proposed to Aubrey maybe there’s still an us. Maybe in another world, we are in each other’s arms kissing and dancing till broad daylight together with our kids. But in this world, our reality we will just know each other but not be together till the end.

I do hope that you enjoyed our collaboration this day. We have another one a rom-com scene but that is in our local language already. Once I am done with the edits it will be uploaded too tomorrow.

For editing the sounds I used the following apps:
Wondershare Filmora for Combining the tracks that are in MP3 format.

You can just import the MP3 file and once improted you can just drag it on the audio tabs.

Voice Recorder wherein you can trim the file length and it will be automatically be converted into MP3 format.

Challenges:
Once you used the app some of the recorded files are not showing ( the trick for that is to name it and not use the default file name wherein it follows like this. 2018_06_16 _xxxxx.mp3)

Sort:  

Woah, stupid jerk.

I just can't figure why bother going to bigger problems asking the person that you loved once to love you back again

Hahah that is because, she is the first love of that guy. Too bad he rushed things and it is still good that Ms. Padilla was saved from that relationship.

@echowhale team swimming by with your upvotes and reesteem

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60896.14
ETH 2915.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55