Book Review: Who Fears Death.

in #fiction5 years ago

WHO FEARS DEATH BY NNEDI OKORAFOR.
image
It took me time to finish this cos, I was caught up with studies and when I was done, the weather over here refuse to let me take photos.
So I had pretty funny, annoying and interesting experience while reading this book.
First it was with a gentleman, who tried to start a conversation with me in a public transport. He started with my pizza, then he moved to the book I was reading saying "I know this lady Nnedi. She was the one who did a book lunching in Enugu, that she even invited me to the book lunch but I wasn't able to make it because of work".
Guyssss!!! you need to see my facial expression and mood. I was like wtfff.
The same gentleman started talking about him been a reader and I asked him the books he has read and his favs.
He couldn't give me a reasonable book rather he talked about just two motivational authors of which I remembered the name of one for him.
He further talked about him writing a book and had to stop because someone published a book in America with the same title. Now I was mad and I stopped replying him even when he kept talking.
Second experience was meeting a lady for the first time at Uniabuja which we talked about books!!! (thanks to this book). Though she wasn't a fan of Nigeria literature because of the style of writing and how she preferred Ghanaian literature.
📖
This book is about Onyesonwu (An Esu and also Eshu whom girl with powerful magical abilities from a post-apocalyptic Africa).
She embarked on a journey that caused her to grapple with nature, history, tradition and mysteries of her culture.
It's a fantasy novel I enjoyed because I remembered I was currently reading 'And the mountain echoed' but it wasn't just flowing when I picked this.
I felt melancholy seeing the female genital mutiliation, rape and the patriarchal nature of education the girls went through.
It's a book that worth it.
📖
So I think I would be cutting down on my reading of literature books because I can't get to balance it with academic reading. When I try, it ends up with literature having the most time.
But if you have a suggestion or help on this, please am open to it.

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @uche-nna! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 13000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 14000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01