A child’s letter

in #fiction6 years ago

God,
They asked us today to write something to put in the rocket. You know, like a letter in a bottle type thing. They've been building the thing since before I was born. Bobby thinks it's stupid, but I sort of think it's a good idea. I mean, maybe not the rocket, but the letters. Bobby's my best friend, so normally I might think it's stupid too, just so I could crack on it with him, but not this time. Instead, I climbed up on top of the big hill, and here I am writing this alone. Some of the kids say that aliens are going to read these, but I'm writing mine like it's to you. So if you see that stupid rocket flying all over the place, know my note is a letter to you. First thing: thanks. This place is neat. Bobby showed me this hole, clear out in the grey parts; we drop rocks down it and we never hear them hit the bottom. That's my favorite thing so far. Maybe the snow too. I'm sure there will be other things later. So thanks for it all. This year I decided to learn about the past, and at first I was sort of mad at you, but I guess you can understand that. I think we did good for you in the long run, but those things they told me about were crazy. We don't even have things like that in our movies anymore. They say what got us out of all that were the buttons, but I guess I think there must have been more, even if maybe we just forgot about it. You see we have these buttons all over the place, even in fields and stuff, and if you press one the whole world blows up. That's what they tell us growing up anyway, so of course nobody pushes the darn things. But how did that end the bad things I learned happened long ago? I don't think the grown ups know themselves, like I don't even think it's in some long forgotten about library. So, if this is going to be a letter to the creator of all of this, that's what I want to ask you. How did things really change. And was there another good time before the bad time, or is this the first good time? Besides that, the little ants are pretty stupid, and some of the flying bugs that bite, but maybe you have a reason for that. Anyway, sorry for throwing this lousy rocket into your cool stars. See you when I die I hope.
PeterBC1BFCEB-3768-4F7E-A863-E02D8627AFC1.jpeg

Sort:  

Thank you for saying so :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60385.11
ETH 2889.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65