Suicidal Sacrament

in #fiction6 years ago

8C7C8249-E9C3-4CFC-8243-1AC2294A0468.jpegI walked in the front door and knew right away something was wrong. My mom and dad were at the kitchen table holding hands. I noticed my little sister at the top of the stairs, but she ran away when we locked eyes. I felt like walking right back out the door. I didn't though.
"What's up?"
My mom had been crying. My dad was never home this early. Something was fucked alright, but why weren't they talking!
"Alright, seriously, what's going on here, you two are freaking me out."
"Son, we have some sad news to tell you."
My dad saying these words made my mom start crying again.
"Mom, you alright? What's the news?"
"Do you want to sit down?"
"Jesus Christ, no. I want this to be over. Tell me already."
"It's your therapist, Doctor Mollard. He has taken his own life today."
"What?"
"We got a call from his secretary this afternoon."
"He fucking killed himself today? I was supposed to see him tonight. That twisted fucker. You know what he told me on Monday? Well do you? He told me he had a big surprise for me. Told me he was going to show me something on Wednesday! Was this his surprise? Jesus Christ..."
My mom couldn't take that little rant of mine, so she ran away. I heard her footsteps going up the stairs. I didn't mean to freak her out, I was just sort of thinking out loud. I was freaked out myself. They had me going to this therapist for the last four months, and I had started to think of him as a smart dude. The rest of my life is filled with nothing but retards, and it was refreshing to talk to someone with a bit of actual intelligence. If I was crazy at all, it was from being constantly surrounded by idiots, and in a way he helped with that. Anyway, I knew right away this was his big surprise. What a fucking psychopath.
"Dad. This is fucked right?"
"It isn't good, you're mom is taking it hard. Did he really say that to you?"
"Yep."
"Jesus."
"How did he do it."
"I don't know. Does it matter?"
"A little I guess."
"Well I'm sure you'll find out if you want to. I can't believe we send you to that guy, I'm sorry son."
"No, you couldn't have known. It was kind of nice actually. He was my favorite one so far."
"Are you going to want another one?"
"No. No I don't think I will."
"You want to talk to me about it?"
"Not now so much. Does Lisa know?"
"No, I don't think so anyway. She knows something bad happened."
"Pretty strange right? The guy you pay to tell me the world is fine kills himself. Maybe we should just stop pretending it's fine."
"It isn't fine. I wish it was, son, but it's not."
"I know dad, don't worry."
I could tell he needed to get back to the office, so I sort of let him off the hook and he gave me a big old hug. My mom was in Lisa's room crying. I wished she wouldn't scare her, but it wasn't worth fighting over, so I just took a long hot shower. When I got out they were acting pretty normal. I considered that good enough. What a time to be alive right?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60725.43
ETH 2900.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59