You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: In The Beginning & On War and Death (Mythic Fiction)

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

I like the imaginative idea of tribes living on Trolls. The storytelling style fits this setting also. It is a style that can feel overdone at times, but used in the right way adds a lot (like with the Princess Bride).

There was one bit that was somewhat confusing to me. I feel like I get the main idea, but the wording makes me unsure:

“It is one, yet it is many. The Sun is no different than our home’s core. All molten lava, in it, all Trolls, (and there are as many as there are stars in the night’s sky) are as one!”

I am not exactly sure what you mean by "core" here, and the "in it" is a bit unclear. Could you explain this part a little more? Thanks.

Sort:  

The Princess Bride was definitely on my mind as I wrote this, I think. And yes, it was a worry, that I'd go too far in that direction, lean too heavily. But I feel that for mythic storytelling in particular, this style adds quite a bit.

Speaking of the molten core of Earth, and in it, merged trolls swim. Same for the Sun, or the Sun's core - that bit is ambiguous on purpose.

Glad you liked the idea. Ideas are easier, it's the execution of that game that needed some more work, but it was designed for a 24 hour contest or so, so it made sense.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66732.73
ETH 3073.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66