The Light - A Fifty Words Story

in #fiftywords6 years ago

swimmer-1678307_960_720.jpg
Image Source

Staggering slowly.

The light was getting brighter now.

Familiar faces.

A feeling of euphoria coursing through his veins.

The light which had enveloped him, suddenly subsided.

Darkness.

"John, JOHN!"

He coughed up the water.

"We thought we had lost you"

"I saw him in the light Mum, I saw Dad"

Divider.png
That was my attempt to tell a story in just 50 words with the prompt of "Light"

Thanks for taking the time to read my story - I hope you enjoyed it. You can find some more of my stories here if you want to drop by

A huge thanks to @jayna for this wonderful outlet. The prompt for this week can be found here

Go on!! Give it a go.... It's loads of fun.... I promise!

Peace Out

Ablaze 🔥

Sort:  

Nicely done.

Somewhat sad. Which way to go? A tough call.

😄😇😄

@creatr

P.S. I love that "swimmer in the road" image! - Mind bending!

Thanks for stopping in.. Ya it's kind of bitter sweet, I has planned to personify light's different constituent colours for this one, but then this one just came to me, and went down this avenue instead :o) I sometimes find the image first and work the story around it, but this time I happened upon this image on Pixabay after writing the story..

Good story. You should give the Zappl contest run by @felt.buzz a try.
It's even more difficult than 50 words, with only 232 characters to play with.
Ah go on!

Thanks a million... I'm a bit slow to try anything which brings me to another platform... Is there much to Zappl to get started?

Nothing at all. You sign in with your Steemit username and password and you're off running.

Ah cool, will have to give it a go.. Does it do anything that Steemit.com cant do?

I suppose not other than it allows you to post 240 characters, something which might put you down as a lazy bastard if posted on Steemit. Once you post a Zap it appears in your Steemit blog and people upvote it in the normal way. It's supposed to be the blockchain alternative to Twitter.

Ah right decentralised Twitter alternative.. I get it now :o)

This is a very intense story, @ablaze. Wow, you packed so much in here. In just 50 words, you told the story of a family dealing with a terrible loss, and a child's desire to reunite with his father. And what an image!

Thanks so much for the lovely comments and encouragement. I love writing these little mini stories :o)

Now, I saw it as his dad saving him by having him swim toward the light. I don't usually go directly to the happy side, but there you have it. Nice.

Hey, I really like that interpretation pal, nice one 👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95