Booked (Fifty Word Short Story)

in #fiftywords5 years ago (edited)

The same worn, faded face looked back at her from the mirror. Drawn eyes, smudged lipstick, ruffled hair.

She retrieved another baby wipe, on her second packet of the evening already, wiping off the offending smear, ready to reapply.

It was important she looked fresh, she was fully booked tonight.

When I saw the prompt was book, I immediately thought of the active meaning, to book, to be booked and this came to mind.

This is my entry to @jayna's #fiftywords story contest which runs every week, this week, the prompt is 'book'. Give her a follow to make sure you don't miss out, and find all the entries under the tag

Photo Credit by Pixabay User Ivanovgood who has some gloriously glamorous ladies, in a whole range of shots, as well as a cute pup who features in quite a few, plenty to chose from there.



Love contests? Love making stuff up? Check out the latest round of my contest Tell A Story To Me (Deadline now November 5th) either, tell the tale of people who encounter the scariest story ever, or... Panda time!!


Source

Write a story, with the specific intention of scaring Calluna

Sort:  



This post has been rated by the user-run curation platform CI! In this platform users are able to manually curate content. This is done regardless of Steem Power, for both rewards and vote size calculation.

Join in at our site here!
https://collectiveintelligence.red/

Or join us on discord to interact with the community!
https://discord.gg/sx6dYxt



This post was submitted for curation by: @theironfelix
This post was given a rating of: 0.9980048257774913
This post was voted: 58.83%

Damn, all that for a show? All I can say in my spot: “cityscape at night? Big deal.” (Full sass intended in both song and quote.) Then again, if she’s really booked all night, then may she play her role well as life demands it so. Upvot’d and resteem'd.
513E78E1-5A2B-4F22-A9DF-BA04639CB34C.gif

Ahhh I didn't even realise it could read just as much for an actress, show girl, or call girl until I saw this comment. Thank you so much, very little is better than realising something can be read another way <3

Well done, @calluna! I like the irony of the baby wipe in this story.

That’s neat that you’re running a story contest. I will check it out!

Thank you :)

There are only a few days left to enter this round, but I would be thrilled if you found time, or stopped by on the next one!

I would love to! I'll stay tuned and try to find some time over the holidays to participate in more contests. I'm just about to leave for Steemfest, and life is so busy! But I followed the link and am checking it out.

Also, you just introduced me to the concept of Steem Basic Income. I had heard a little buzz, but haven't had a chance to see it in action yet. Sometimes it takes a few mentions of something to wake up and realize you need to go after more information! I can see I have some reading and learning to do. If you have any tips, please let me know. Thanks @calluna!

Nice twist on the prompt.
Very sensuous and suggestive. It retains the ambivalence towards the so-called world's most ancient occupation.

Thank you, and thank very much for such a thoughtful and insightful comment! <3

A very interesting read. Well written.

Wow this is vivid and powerful. One wonders how our character found herself in this situation? Was it her choice? Did she even have a choice?

You just planted 0.05 tree(s)!


Thanks to @manoldonchev

We have planted already 6144.39 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 26108.33
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99