You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ghostly Books (a 50-word story for @jayna)

in #fiftywords6 years ago

Thank you for sharing this story, @hlezama, and the real life situation behind it. I can't believe all the things you have been through, and the ongoing tragedies in your country. I hear about it on the news almost every single day, and from my Venezuelan friend here. Such sadness.

Your story and accompanying pictures are amazing. Together they illustrate your message so well. It took my breath away to read this. Throughout history, books have been at the center of so many human tragedies, as books have been banned and burned for political reasons, and abandoned by refugees fleeing their homeland. The concept of a book is so incredible when you think about it -- encapsulated knowledge and ideas; learning and intellectual growth. Their potential cannot be overstated.

I'm very sad for you that you have to leave your country, and deeply saddened that you have to leave your books behind. I send my deepest wishes for your health and safety.

Sort:  

Thank you very much, @jayna. I will always be grateful to you and you 50-word challenge for having provided this window/venue for me to express all these things/ideas/feelings.
I appreciate all the time you devote to building community in Steemit. Your example has been inspirational. Hopefully, one day, soon, things will change for the better and I will be able to tell more cheerful stories.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64307.66
ETH 3146.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88