water fell :: fifty word story prompt challenge

in #fiftywords6 years ago

This is an entry for the Fifty Word Story Prompt Challenge coordinated by @jayna.

The prompt this week: waterfall

I took a mild liberty with the prompt word, but I don't think it's too far astray.



“I remember when water would fall from the skies,” Joseph said to his daughter. “Back when the earth could keep itself green on its own.”

They stared at the potted tomato plant, the last life in his little greenhouse.

“I remember when the whole world was full of this color.”




Title image by @negativer using Canva.

Join us at The Writers Block on Discord.
A great community of writers there, helping each other get better at what they enjoy doing.

Sort:  

Cheerful as ever! I'm glad you managed to get a 50-word story written again this week. I was worried. :-)

Taking liberties with the prompt word is not only allowed but encouraged. Some people actually use it to fuel the idea behind their post but don't actually incorporate the prompt word or variations of it in their posts.

Thanks @jayna! I wasn't actually sure if the word itself had to be used in the story, but now that I know...I'll probably still use the word in the story :) Good to know there are options though!

Where there's life, there's hope... right? ;)

😄😇😄

@creatr

Leave it to you to try to find the upside :) You are right! A little life, a little seed, a little hope.

Yes, you know me well... ;)

I'm one of those guys that want to be on Elon Musk's shuttle to Mars City. ;)

There is still hope. That one last plant could change it all.

You are right! There is still some small glimmer of hope. Don't give up! :)

Oh man, the dystopia is back. I love how, what? Ancient(?) this feels. I dig it bruv. :D

Thanks! It's either ancient, or way in the future :)

Apocalyptic notes again ? :)

Sure, just a little bit. Nothing wrong with a little bit of apocalypse in the morning :)

I love your ray of sunshine on the world. Honoring the Neg-name :)

Great write. We do depend on the wet stuff ... nothing for dinner but tomatoes, hey ... where's the bacon:)

The bacon is his legs (see his latest unintended poetry) :D

LOL ... I did:):):)

I'm keeping the bacon for myself. You can have the tomatoes :) Thx for reading!

You can keep your stinkin' end of the world tomatoes ... lol:)

@jayna said “cheerful as ever.” Goodness yes! I like it though. You can see the plant and feel how rare the green. Chilling!

I was going to have something optimistic and positive in there...but I ran out of words ;)

Thanks for reading! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61054.53
ETH 2976.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65