Keen

in #fiftywords5 years ago (edited)

This morning you graced my ears with the finest of music, a joyful tune, a spell. We danced to the songs of the invisible things. We purred and panted and loved.

Then I lifted you wrapped and limp from my bed for what I knew would be the last time, and soon you grew colder in my arms, first the pads on your paws, then your bone thin legs. While my tears glistened in your still black fur, I hummed a song of holiness.

And with your last smidgen of warmth cradled in my arms, I swayed to the beat.


I got right to work for either a 50 or 100 word story for the @jayna fiftyword contest prompt "grace" as soon as she posted it. I thought to make things easier for myself I'd simply cut down a previously written poem to a 100 word story. That would be easy, right?

Wrong! This was far more difficult than I thought it would be! And there is an important element of the original poem (holding him close to keep him warm) that I just could not figure out how to put in. Here is the link to the original poem https://steemit.com/poemchallenge/@owasco/eddie

Thank you for reading!

Sort:  

That is an interesting approach, @owasco. Great idea to give your original work new life by writing it in a new medium.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64852.72
ETH 3178.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.20