Fifty Word Story Challenge: Sea

in #fiftywords6 years ago

Fifty Word Story Challenge ~ Theme: Sea

Here is my entry:

We were out on the open sea, aboard the ‘Europa’. The race had been called off. It was sunny, and the crew was living it up. I’ll never forget watching all of them swimming – in the middle of the ocean, or the homemade apple pie we had during coffee break!  


~ ~ ~


This is actually a true story. I sailed on the "Europa" tall ship in 2005 during the Tall Ship Races. I participated in the part of the race that was from Waterford, Ireland to Cherbourg, France. The race started late (due to no wind), and it was also called off early (also lack of wind). So, all the ships ended up "motoring" (rather than sailing) the rest of the way to Cherbourg. It took a few days. 

While we motored along, we kept busy. We practiced taking the sails up and down - even the "stay sails/stun sails". We scraped the deck, we helped file some reports (sorry don't know what they are called), we were visited be a small group of sailors that came over (in a small motor boat) from another tall ship. And one day, they stopped the ship so everyone could go swimming - in the ocean.  It was an amazing sunny day. It was beautiful! Frankly, I was too scared to go swimming. I had just seen a documentary about the ocean (and all the dangerous animals in the ocean) a few days prior during the Tall Ship Festival in Waterford, so the idea of swimming in the ocean - where it was basically bottomless - sort of scared me at the time. I wish I could go back in time and swim, but oh well. I still had a great time. 

Later that day, during the regular coffee break - they served us fresh apple pie. It was unbelievably good, and an amazing experience eating pie, on a sunny day, aboard a tall ship, in the middle of the ocean with no land in sight. I'll never forget it!

In case you are unfamiliar with the "Europa" or tall ships or the Tall Ship Races, here are some links for you. I really hope you check it out and consider participating in a race or traveling aboard one of the magnificent tall ships that are wandering around our planet. It is an amazing experience!! It's also fun to just attend a tall Ship Festival and take tours of the tall ships.


Links:

Upcoming Tall Ship Races & Events:

(Image of the 'Europa' found using the Creative Commons photo search)


Sort:  

Do you know, as I read it, I had a feeling it was a true story... Sounds amazing, I've never captured my own life in a 50 words yet, now you've given me an idea :o)

What a neat lil’ 50-word tasker story.

Sounds like an awesome adventure! That boat is huge!

It's the first time I heard of boat races of this kind. I have seen others of smaller boats like sea doos and all. Very interesting.

It is pretty big, but FYI there are even larger Tall Ships out there- many! The largest one that I have seen personally (and I got to take a tour of it, too) was a ship called "Kruzenshtern" (not sure I spelled that right) that is owned by Russia. It was present at the Tall Ship Festival in Waterford, Ireland.

Interesting stuff to know what is going on across the world. Ship Festivals have got to be an impressive thing to attend.

Wow, what a backstory! Thank for offering some context, history and links about the races. This is so cool!

No problem- whenever I get a chance to tell more people about the Europa and tall ships - I do! It's such an amazing thing to participate in - and I don't think many people know that these amazing ships are still cruisin' around. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87