The Point of Truth [A 50 Word Short]

in #fiftywords6 years ago (edited)


“You left Dad to die.” The fire popped as Tanya stirred it with her dagger. “He trusted you.”

“I didn’t!” Billy dropped to his knees. “They captured me!”

Tanya studied his eyes. Billy had never lied before.

She waved the dagger then sheathed it. “That better be the truth.”


This is my entry for @jayna's #fiftywords challenge, using the prompt pop. Huge thanks to the folks at @ink-ubator for helping me edit and polish this into a powerful microfiction story.




Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://therosepatch.com/the-point-of-truth-a-50-word-short/

Sort:  

Enough ambiguity to make it a remarkable story. Family feuds always provide good drama. Trust is a rare material that shape-shifts with fire.

I don't know if I believe Billy! But what can she do.. Fratricide is just as bad as Patricide.... I'm glad to sheathed the dagger... for now..

This is really powerful, @therosepatch! The interplay between the two characters, and the threat of things turning bloody, is very well done. Kudos!

Very sorry to have taken so long to read this!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73