Burst, for the Fifty Word Challenge

in #fiftywords6 years ago


Source

Here's my response to @jayna's #fiftywordchallenge. If you haven't, I encourage you to follow her!

Burst

The little girl ran to her mother in joy.

“Look mommy, look! A big blue balloon!”

Her mother laughed.

“Careful, darling. Come here, let’s tie it around your wrist so you don’t lose it.”

Barely two feet from her mother, the little girl tripped and fell on the balloon.

Pop!

Sort:  

how sad she just bought it

I know! Poor kid.

Short-lived joy. Don't we know about it? :)
Good story.

Thank you!

Aw, sad! The poor sweetie. That is a little trauma nearly every child encounters at some point. Perhaps it helps us prepare for the more challenging losses later in.

I hope so, for that little girl's sake!

I can't help but see a wider symbolism... Many "balloons" will burst and Mammy won't always be there to clean up the mess or replace the balloon. Sad but true or maybe it's just about a kids balloon! 😀

Whoa.

I never thought of it that way. Yes, there really is a metaphor in there -- maybe I should've titled the work "Careful, Darling!"

You just got my mind going off in a dozen directions at once!

Love the GIF! Brilliant :o)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99