Just another day and and another $1000 Shit Post

in #fight4steemit6 years ago

So what are you supposed to do when the crowd starts rolling in and congratulates you on an outstanding quality post? Well you go big time on the upvotes of course. 

Yesterday, when I found this post, I was thinking it deserved a little attention, at $500 but now he's moved into the $1000 sphere, it definitely needs pegging back.

But I'm not claiming @bartcardi has completely upvoted that amount, because a thousand upvotes has to mean something right?

And when your top voter list looks something like this you begin to wonder...

But when your wallet reads like this you can stop wondering

But as usual there's always a twist, and this quality post is just a more refined copy and paste than usual.

Because apparently it's OK to be a plagiarist as long as you add fluff around the edges and cite your source.

Yes, @bartcardi I'm calling you out and no it's not OK to copy someones words. EVER!

It is however OK to read someone's work and derive your own meaning from it, then put it into your own words. And this is the path you should have taken but maybe that would have taken too long.

But don't worry your readers don't have a clue.

Yes, you've really taken them for a wild ride. 

Could you be the next @haejin in the making?

Sure you can, but first let me enlighten my readers on some of the words you pass as your own. 

Is just a copy paste from the Investopedia Technical Analysis definition

Yes, it's a great start but let's continue

)

Yep, you guessed it is just a word for word copy of the Investopedia Indicators definition

And this shit continues right through the document.

Again a word for word copy.

Now don't get me wrong, this post isn't 100% plagiarism and @cheetah bot would find it hard to find the copy and pastes but it's certainly not worth the $1000 current value of the post.

And simply stating

You're not kidding.

The problem with copy and paste crime is people begin to believe you're something when your not. 

And then you start to believe you can become the next haejin and become a well paid TA on Steemit.

And then start to believe in your own hype and thank the community for giving you a trending post.

Although, some of us just aren't buying it.

Now I post this in the hope that a big whale (@berniesanders) is able to shut this down before it really takes off.

Steemit should only accept 100% original content, because this is going into the blockchain, and will be a permanent record of your crimes.

Yes, breaching copyright is a punishable offence.


 Disclaimer: I will continue to upvote these posts in the order of $10-$20 as they are time sensitive and I need better visibility in the community so people can take action before the payment cycle is complete. If you have objections feel free to down vote if you believe this information isn't useful to the Steemit Community.Image source: Pixabay 

Sort:  

Slightly-Off Topic Question: would you consider unethical for someone like myself to lease out Steempower to minnow booster? I'm new to the platform and have been wondering about this. Thanks

Absolutely not. There are so many bigger fish out there taking advantage of the bots so why should the little guys missout.
If you are not actually manually curating then don't waste that voting power.
Although your returns aren't as great as building a following with your upvotes and getting free upvotes from the community as a reward.

Thanks for the reply. I appreciate it.

I'm glad that I'm reading this before I really get started with blogging regularly.

I've thought a couple of times to learn more about buying votes, just because I thought it was the norm. You see posts with just one image and 2 lines of text earning more than 50 dollars and start wondering if buying upvotes is the only way to grow.

After reading your post and some other similar backlash against people buying upvotes, I think I'm just going to let everything grow organically without pushing it.

I still have to learn a lot, but posts like these really help me understand this community a bit more.

Thanks!

If you write good content, then for sure use the bots to give it some attention. But within reason of course.

I still don't really know how I'd feel about doing that. Personally, I think my work would have less value to myself if I know that I've skipped part of the growing process by using bots.

Not that I would judge anyone for using bots, seems to be a run of the mill thing on Steemit.

Is not using upvotebots an unwritten law here or is it just when someone does it for a shitpost?

Generally shit posts, don't deserve rewards.Period.
We are trying to build something here, the reward is secondary.

Another day on Steemit, another reason to not post original content. I am not inclined to do so knowing that this nonsense is being celebrated, is rewarded, and is trending.

You do an excellent job of bringing attention to this sort of riff raff on the platform. You would make a great auditor. Whatever quality assurance team exists at Steemit Inc, if there even is one, should be ashamed of themselves.

I really appreciate your support. It's hard to make these posts because it get's inside your head and it's frustrating that all I can do is write about it.
I'm not really sure Steemit Inc really care, about this problem, or they could delegate to those that do.
This guy is worth watching in 7 days when he gets his first big payout.

No problem. I am following you and appreciate your in depth analysis. I know that it feels like it goes unnoticed, but some users here actually appreciate quality content, especially as it pertains to the evident deficiencies of the Steem blockchain and/or Steemit as its first proof of concept.

You may want to consider for your next analysis the dichotomy in how SBDs are characterized as being pegged to the USD by the Steem White Paper versus their actual market performance. This has been a topic of interest to me, especially in light of all of the controversy surrounding Tether now. I write a lot about this via comments, most recently here and here.

The product is content and the currency Steem.
Very interesting.

Please check my thoughts on a crypto currency ecomomy.

@weddingdresses

"Yes, @bartcardi I'm calling you out and no it's not OK to copy someones words. EVER!
It is however OK to read someone's work and derive your own meaning from it, then put it into your own words. And this is the path you should have taken but maybe that would have taken too long."

Thanks for drawing attention to posts like these. If someone is plagiarizing and being boosted by bots I, unfortunately, have to give them a down vote. I want this to be a positive community but we need some standards of ethics.

I hesitated to publish this post, but the moment he started using his upvoted post as credibility source, I felt it needed to be said.

Thanks for stopping by and hopefully, bigger player will get involved, before it's too late.

Awesome post! I invite you to visit our blog and enjoy our content :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71443.06
ETH 3660.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73