Shooting the Short Film "Take Out"

in #film6 years ago

IMG_6998.JPG

I spent the entirety of Sunday filming the short film "Take Out" where I portrayed Susan, an eccentric/psychotic woman who hired a hitman to kill her husband and mistakenly takes a chinese food delivery boy hostage when she confuses him with the person arranged to pick up the money for the hit.

IMG_6999.JPG

The set design and costumes were sunset colors and an 80's aesthetic. Being 35, I was easily the oldest person on set and I did keep to myself mostly as my character was the villain and I didn't want there to be any obvious comradery between us. Also, my cream colored dress was very tight fitting and needed to be taped down in parts so I spent most of the 12 hours standing and avoiding messes that could soil the dress.

IMG_7025.JPG
We managed to shoot nearly all my scenes in one or two takes with one exception when everyone else on set kept laughing. They had a really hard time keeping it together in parts. I probably seemed like one of those method actors as everyone thought I was staying in character between takes. I was just really fucking tired and naturally bitchy so I could see how that might be confused as method acting.

I did get an hour break where I managed to sneak a nap in and drool on myself.
IMG_7004.JPG

This was a really fun part for me to play where I got to go through a variety of emotions. I had a harrowing day on Saturday so I was able to channel some of that sadness and frenetic energy into an emotional territory that was useful for me. Like when I had to come running out of the house in tears screaming "KEVIN, YOU MOTHERFUCKER! I'LL KILL YOU MYSELF YOU FUCKING ASSHOLE!!!" It all got put to good use.

I can't wait to see the footage. I know there is going to be some great stuff on there for my reel.

Also, did I mention there was a pig?
IMG_7032.JPG

IMG_7035.JPG

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62777.17
ETH 2951.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59