ENTANGLEMENT TRAILER / Rough Music Mix v1

in #film6 years ago (edited)

Rough Music Mix - v1

I, like most filmmakers, don't have a huge budget. It's just part of the reality of filmmaking and in my humble opinion, is the true measure of the craft. I'm 31 years old and I know that my best filmmaking years are yet to come. Perspective comes with experience and those experienced take time to acquire. But, I digress.

So, I decided recently to go back and cut a trailer for a short film I directed a few years back as a way to reacquaint myself with editing. I put editing down to focus on writing and producing and since then I've been fortunate enough to get a few narrative projects off the ground (along with dozens of corporate, commercial and even a few broadcast projects).

Normally, I never look back. It's always full steam (i.e. - steem) ahead. But editing is more a study than a form and some of the virtues of revisiting old work is utilizing the natural progression of the craft and tech to breath new life into an old story.

Since I first released my short "proof of concept" film ENTANGLEMENT back in 2014 a handful of musical scores have been released that I think truly elevate the genre. Ask anyone and they'll tell you, good sci-fi is good sound design. Film is the combination of SOUND and MOTION and sound often times goes unnoticed and under-praised. That means when you're watching a film half of the experience is literally invisible. Good scoring and sound design set a good film apart from a great one.

Which is why I've decided to embark on this exercise. Instead of getting a composer to score this trailer, I decided to mash-up a handful of a few of my favorite new pieces from recent (and not so recent) sci-fi films to cut against. Some didn't make the cut (namely Mica Levi's work from UNDER THE SKIN), but arranging isn't easy - and I certainly am no expert at it. I'll be mixing and changing a few things up here and there, but I wanted to share this work in progress.

Credits:

Max Richter - The Swimmer (from ARRIVAL 2016)
Ben Salisbury and Geoff Barrow - The Alien (from ANNIHILATION 2018)
Jerry Goldsmith - Theme (from ALIEN 1979)

Enjoy!



▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62414.94
ETH 3019.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58